![]() |
Quote:
|
From 'The Intent and Purpose of the Rules'
"Therefore, it is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player or team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule." In the absence of a clear prohibition of rolling the ball as the original play describes, and since the practical result of the play is a dribble (player moves while ball is on the floor), I'm treating it like a legal dribble. There is no unfair advantage gained by the roll, any more than a really low bounce pass or dribble. No call from me on this. Call the obvious, and this ain't obvious. |
Quote:
|
NCAA Rule 2 section 3 - Elastic Power(EP). I can call it a travel or double dribble and be correct. But I am not saying you have to call it either.
IMO - If the rolling is accomplished by using two hands after the initial release I would call double dribble. If the ball is picked up after the initial roll, the palyer has lost his dribble. |
Quote:
|
It IS a dribble!
You are getting hung up on the literal.
If you push, strike, or bat a ball to the floor what happens? The hand releases the ball and the ball touches the floor. What happens when you roll the ball? The hand releases the ball and the ball touches the floor. This ain't rocket science. |
Re: It IS a dribble!
Quote:
What if the ball just happens to be ON the floor as the player pushes it? You have a dribble now? |
Re: Re: It IS a dribble!
Quote:
|
Re: Re: It IS a dribble!
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: It IS a dribble!
Quote:
If the ball is not moving on the floor it is at rest and has no kinetic energy. If the ball is moving on the floor it has kinetic energy. Neither of which means anything in this discussion. I think BZ's original point was if A1 is HOLDING the ball then the ball somehow makes it TO the floor to initiate the roll. Good point. My point is if the ball is on the floor - moving or standing still - when A1 rolls it he does not move the ball TO the floor. Because it's already there. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: It IS a dribble!
Quote:
As in the original play. |
Re: Rolling is dribbling
Quote:
Wow. MTD's record has been broken . . . :p |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45pm. |