The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   charge/block rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/13388-charge-block-rule.html)

toby Mon Apr 26, 2004 06:45pm

i am from Sydney and referee 3 nights per week. I am confussed as to what a good definition of a charge or block is. i dont even have a good, clear rule book explanation. can any1 help me? Why is it that in the rule book (the australian one) there is such a small definition for the most complicated rule in basketball?

TravelinMan Mon Apr 26, 2004 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by toby
i am from Sydney and referee 3 nights per week. I am confussed as to what a good definition of a charge or block is. i dont even have a good, clear rule book explanation. can any1 help me? Why is it that in the rule book (the australian one) there is such a small definition for the most complicated rule in basketball?
Toby, what exactly are you confused by with the charge (known as player control foul) vs block? If you have been refing 3 nights per week how have you been calling that situation? That is probably the best way to answer your questions. If you "officaite the defense", the player control/block call is a lot easier to make.

PGCougar Tue Apr 27, 2004 11:46am

From a coach's standpoint, it's very easy. If my team is on defense, then the call should be a charge. If my team is on offense, then all calls should be blocks. :D :D :D

It takes officials to make a simple rule like that complicated. ;)

Seriously, what Travelin Man has said is good advice and is consistent with many of the other officials here. Watch the defense and you'll see the positioning and timing of the players better both prior to and as the contact is occuring. That increases the likelihood of making the correct call.

In fact, this little tip of following the D has helped me become a better coach, seeing the play develop better and giving me clearer information on what we needed to work on as a team.

TravelinMan Tue Apr 27, 2004 06:56pm

Thanks Cougar. And remember good officials strive to be in the right position to make the correct call. So we are in an even better position than the coach adn fans to make the call.

A player control foul is committed by a player while they are in control of the ball or are an airborne shooter.

In the former case, when a defender moves into the path of a dribbler and contact occurs, either player may be responsible for the contact, but the greater responsibility is that of the dribbler if the defender has obtained a legal guarding position, i.e.,INITIALLY, both feet planted and facing the dribbler before contact occurs(defender may then be sideways without both feet planted as the dribbler continues in his path). Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER. Otherwise, it is a player control foul.

In the latter case -- airborne shooter -- it is important that the defender obtains legal guarding position (both feet planted firmly on floor and facing airborne shooter)BEFORE player is airborne or it is a block. If LGP is obtained before shooter is airborne, it is a player control foul.

That is pretty much it in a nutshell. Hope this helps. I'm certain my fellow officials will have much to add to this, but I am trying to be brief as possible so as not to confuse. A little bit at a time to comprehend.

Jurassic Referee Tue Apr 27, 2004 07:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan

Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER.

Not necessarily.

TravelinMan Tue Apr 27, 2004 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan

Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER.

Not necessarily.

JR, please elaborate.

ChuckElias Tue Apr 27, 2004 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER.

Not necessarily.

JR, please elaborate.

First of all, the contact may be incidental. So there may not be a foul at all. Secondly, the dribbler could push off (clear out) with the free arm, and this would not be a foul on the defender. It would be a PC.

mick Tue Apr 27, 2004 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
First of all, the contact may be incidental. So there may not be a foul at all. Secondly, the dribbler could push off (clear out) with the free arm, and this would not be a foul on the defender. <U>It would be a PC.</U>
Flagrant?
Intentional?

rainmaker Tue Apr 27, 2004 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by PGCougar
From a coach's standpoint, it's very easy. If my team is on defense, then the call should be a charge. If my team is on offense, then all calls should be blocks. :D :D :D

It takes officials to make a simple rule like that complicated. ;)

You have such a way with words!

Hawks Coach Tue Apr 27, 2004 09:19pm

The other thing to remember about charging is that the rule may be short, but understanding it requires understanding a number of related concepts, such as legal guarding position, rules governing contact in general, verticality, etc. So a number of rules come into play on this, as with many other calls in basketball.

The book is hard to understand when you go looking for one rule to explain something like block-charge, because it isn't as simple as one rule.

TravelinMan Tue Apr 27, 2004 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
First of all, the contact may be incidental. So there may not be a foul at all. Secondly, the dribbler could push off (clear out) with the free arm, and this would not be a foul on the defender. <U>It would be a PC.</U>
Flagrant?
Intentional?

Could be flagrant if the clear out is severe enough, but most players are savvy enough not to do that but rather try to "hide/conceal" the push. Intentional? Never seen that one called on the offense. More commonly called on the defense. But then again I'm originally from NY - so lets get that out of the way.

TravelinMan Tue Apr 27, 2004 09:25pm

Toby - are you lurking? You could be learning something here. Oh well, hope he hasn't gone on a walkabout like Croc Dundee. <grin>

Jurassic Referee Tue Apr 27, 2004 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan

Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER.

Not necessarily.

JR, please elaborate.

A dribbler may get his head and shoulders by a defender's torso, but if the defender had established AND maintained a legal guarding position before the contact, and the ensuing contact is now ON the defender's torso, then you gotta call a charge(PC) on the dribbler.

See NFHS rule 10-6-2- <i>If a dribbler, without contact, sufficiently passes an opponent to have head and shoulders in advance of that opponent, the greater responsibility for subsequent contact is on the opponent."</i> Note that it says "greater responsibility", and not "sole" responsibility. The foul is NOT always automatically on the defender, iow.

Make sense?

Adam Tue Apr 27, 2004 10:18pm

JR, thanks for the elaboration on that point. I'd like to add that if the defender remains stationary and vertical, but the dribbler manages (through some contortion) to get head and shoulders past the torso and causes contact that knocks both players to the floor.... PC.

TravelinMan Tue Apr 27, 2004 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
JR, thanks for the elaboration on that point. I'd like to add that if the defender remains stationary and vertical, but the dribbler manages (through some contortion) to get head and shoulders past the torso and causes contact that knocks both players to the floor.... PC.
After reading your post and assuming you are correct...then you can take the head and shoulders guideline and throw it out the door.

toby Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:23am

yes i am here, and learning heaps.

i.e.,INITIALLY, both feet planted and facing the dribbler before contact occurs(defender may then be sideways without both feet planted as the dribbler continues in his path). Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER. Otherwise, it is a player control foul.

why do the feet need to be "planted"?
Can't the defender stay in his cylinder and jump straight up?

blindzebra Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
JR, thanks for the elaboration on that point. I'd like to add that if the defender remains stationary and vertical, but the dribbler manages (through some contortion) to get head and shoulders past the torso and causes contact that knocks both players to the floor.... PC.
If the offense gets head and shoulders past the defender, the defender no longer has LGP, so contact at that point that occurs on the lower body could be a block or a travel if A1 picked up their dribble before going to the floor, but it is not a PC foul unless you have a push by A1.

ChuckElias Wed Apr 28, 2004 04:37am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
the dribbler could push off (clear out) with the free arm, and this would not be a foul on the defender. <U>It would be a PC.</U>
Flagrant?
Intentional?

Only if he clears out with a fist.

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 28, 2004 04:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
JR, thanks for the elaboration on that point. I'd like to add that if the defender remains stationary and vertical, but the dribbler manages (through some contortion) to get head and shoulders past the torso and causes contact that knocks both players to the floor.... PC.
After reading your post and assuming you are correct...then you can take the head and shoulders guideline and throw it out the door.

Oh,no. The main onus for contact in these cases is always still on the defender, as the book states in rule 10-6-2. However, it's not a one-size-fits-all call. The defender, once attaining LGP, can maintain that LGP by moving laterally, and there also is no requirement that the defender's feet have to be set when the contact occurs. The defender can't be moving TOWARDS the dribbler though. That's all set out in rule 4-23-3. Now, you have to see where the contact occurs. If, it is on the side of the torso (as it usually is), it's a block, as per casebook play 4.23.3. If the contact is ON the torso however, as per the dribbler leaning in, then you could still have a PC on the dribbler, as per the wording in rule 4-7-2(b). As Hawks Coach stated, there's different rules and concepts governing the final call on plays like this, and you have to know all of them.

Adam Wed Apr 28, 2004 08:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
JR, thanks for the elaboration on that point. I'd like to add that if the defender remains stationary and vertical, but the dribbler manages (through some contortion) to get head and shoulders past the torso and causes contact that knocks both players to the floor.... PC.
After reading your post and assuming you are correct...then you can take the head and shoulders guideline and throw it out the door.

Not at all. We just have to realize it's a guideline and not a rule. The point of my post is to point out that there are going to be exceptions. You're telling me that you're calling a block on a stationary (and vertical) B1 because A1 happens to be a contortionist who can use the loophole in the rule by getting his head and shoulders past B1 before taking B1 out with his legs?

Camron Rust Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
JR, thanks for the elaboration on that point. I'd like to add that if the defender remains stationary and vertical, but the dribbler manages (through some contortion) to get head and shoulders past the torso and causes contact that knocks both players to the floor.... PC.
After reading your post and assuming you are correct...then you can take the head and shoulders guideline and throw it out the door.

Not at all. Once A1 has the head and shoulder past the B1, B1 has lost the right to be moving laterally since any such movement that matters would be toward A1 (B1 has lost LGP). If B1 continues to be moving, foul on the B1. If B1 is stationary at the point of contact, then any contact worth of a foul would be a PC foul on A1.

TravelinMan Wed Apr 28, 2004 05:00pm

JR, Snaq, Camron - much clearer now. Toby are you getting this?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1