The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Can't be the first one to touch it? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/13271-cant-first-one-touch.html)

dub3 Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:36pm

A referee called a violation on one of my players because he batted down a pass, stepped out of bounds (he was not touching the ball when he was out of bounds), got both feet back in and then grabbed the ball. The ref said "you can't be the first one to touch the ball when you come back inbounds from saving it"

I checked the NCAA rules and Rule 7, a.r. 1 seems to exactly describe this situation, and it says it is legal.

Was this ref wrong by NCAA rules? Also, in talking with other coaches, they seemed to agree with the ref that you cannot be the first one to touch the ball after you go out of bounds. Is this a commonly mistaken rule? Also, are there any rules other than NCAA that have that it is not legal to be the first one to touch the ball after battign it down adn goign out of bounds?



thanks

Lotto Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dub3
A referee called a violation on one of my players because he batted down a pass, stepped out of bounds (he was not touching the ball when he was out of bounds), got both feet back in and then grabbed the ball. The ref said "you can't be the first one to touch the ball when you come back inbounds from saving it"

I checked the NCAA rules and Rule 7, a.r. 1 seems to exactly describe this situation, and it says it is legal.

Was this ref wrong by NCAA rules? Also, in talking with other coaches, they seemed to agree with the ref that you cannot be the first one to touch the ball after you go out of bounds. Is this a commonly mistaken rule? Also, are there any rules other than NCAA that have that it is not legal to be the first one to touch the ball after battign it down adn goign out of bounds?

This has been gone over many times in this forum. The play you describe is legal. The player doesn't even need to get "both feet" back in; all he/she needs is one foot touching in bounds so long as the other foot is not touching out of bounds (is in the air, for example).

rainmaker Sun Apr 18, 2004 11:50pm

The confusion comes because there IS a rule about touching the ball after your foot has touched out of bounds, DURING A DRIBBLE. The rule is that during a dribble, the ball is out of bounds if your foot touches out of bounds, even if you weren't touching the ball while your foot was oob. That might make it sound as though you can't be the first to touch after having been oob, but this rule only applies during a dribble. On a play sucha s you describe, this rule is meaningless.

Eric Huechteman Mon Apr 19, 2004 04:15pm

Confusion
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The confusion comes because there IS a rule about touching the ball after your foot has touched out of bounds, DURING A DRIBBLE. The rule is that during a dribble, the ball is out of bounds if your foot touches out of bounds, even if you weren't touching the ball while your foot was oob. That might make it sound as though you can't be the first to touch after having been oob, but this rule only applies during a dribble. On a play sucha s you describe, this rule is meaningless.
I think the confusion comes because a player who inbounds the ball CANNOT be the first to touch the ball. Players, fans, and coaches extrapolate that to apply to all situations.

Here's a question: If a player is running toward the sideline to get to a loose ball, dribbles twice, loses his balance (tapping the ball forward so that it bounces 2 or 3 times), steps out of bounds, comes back inbounds, and continues his dribble, has he committed a violation?

Just after I completed the question, I found the answer. Hehe. Rule 4-15-6d states: "Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player invoved in the interrupted dribble."

mdray Mon Apr 19, 2004 04:25pm

Re: Confusion
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Eric Huechteman
[QUOTE
Here's a question: If a player is running toward the sideline to get to a loose ball, dribbles twice, loses his balance (tapping the ball forward so that it bounces 2 or 3 times), steps out of bounds, comes back inbounds, and continues his dribble, has he committed a violation?

Just after I completed the question, I found the answer. Hehe. Rule 4-15-6d states: "Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player invoved in the interrupted dribble."

your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.

Adam Mon Apr 19, 2004 04:32pm

We had a he!!ishly long discussion recently about the definition of an interrupted dribble. If the player has lost immediate control of the ball, some say it's an interrupted dribble and therefor a legal play. Others say if the dribbler is able to maintain enough control to come back to the ball, it's a continuous dribble. I'm in the first camp; since I hold that if it isn't an obvious violation I'm not going to call it. If it isn't obvious that the dribbler maintained control the entire time, I'm letting it go.

Eric Huechteman Mon Apr 19, 2004 04:40pm

Re: Re: Confusion
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mdray
Quote:

Originally posted by Eric Huechteman

your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.
Actually it does apply. The rule book says nothing about how the ball gets away, only that it does. If any other player were nearby, he could simply pick the ball up. If that does not fit the definition of "gotten away from the dribbler," I don't know what does.

Think about it this way: If A1 and B1 get to the ball at the same time and contact occurs, you would not call a foul on B1, but you must if A1 had "control" unless B1 established guarding position on A1 first.

Camron Rust Mon Apr 19, 2004 05:47pm

Re: Re: Confusion
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mdray
Quote:

Originally posted by Eric Huechteman
your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.
Your argument is self-contradictory.

On one hand, you say that it's not an interrupted dribble because it doesn't fit the definition.

On the other hand, you say that you have the OOB when they next touch the ball.

Both can't be true. If it's not an interrupted dribble but is still within the normal dribble, it's a violation the instant the foot touches the line. If you wait to call it when they touch it again, you've implicity declared it an interrupted dribble, which then makes it no violation.


mdray Mon Apr 19, 2004 06:30pm

Re: Re: Re: Confusion
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
Quote:

Originally posted by Eric Huechteman
your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.
Your argument is self-contradictory.

On one hand, you say that it's not an interrupted dribble because it doesn't fit the definition.

On the other hand, you say that you have the OOB when they next touch the ball.

Both can't be true. If it's not an interrupted dribble but is still within the normal dribble, it's a violation the instant the foot touches the line. If you wait to call it when they touch it again, you've implicity declared it an interrupted dribble, which then makes it no violation.

you're right! my mistake.... I should have ruled that I've got a violation here as soon as he/she steps out of bounds; this is not an interrupted dribble in my judgement

ref18 Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:11pm

One a player who isn't in control of the ball, is it 1 or 2 feet that must be inbounds in order for him to legally touch the ball. An official in my area said 2, but here everyone says 1, I'm just wondering which one it is??

BktBallRef Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:33pm

Re: Re: Confusion
 
Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.
If he requested TO, just before stepping OOB, would you grant the TO?



BktBallRef Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
One a player who isn't in control of the ball, is it 1 or 2 feet that must be inbounds in order for him to legally touch the ball. An official in my area said 2, but here everyone says 1, I'm just wondering which one it is??
One, as long as the other foot isn't touching OOB.

ref18 Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:34pm

Doesn't an interupted dribble occur when the dribbler no longer has control of the ball??

BktBallRef Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Doesn't an interupted dribble occur when the dribbler no longer has control of the ball??
Yes, it does, no matter how it occurred.

Adam Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:48pm

BktBallref,
Great point about the timeout. I'm not granting the timeout, and I'm not whistling OOB.

Eric Huechteman Mon Apr 19, 2004 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
BktBallref,
Great point about the timeout. I'm not granting the timeout, and I'm not whistling OOB.

Yes, very good point about the TO. I was trying to make a similar point about A1 and B1 crashing while going after the ball. If it's not an interrupted dribble, then the official MUST call a foul on B1 for contact without establishing LGP, but that clearly cannot be the case, since both are going after the ball. If we decide incidental contact, then it MUST be an interrupted dribble.

Adam Tue Apr 20, 2004 06:28am

Eric,
I see your point, but I don't think LGP is always necessary to draw a pc foul. Not having LGP merely puts the "greater responsibility" on the defender; not 100% of it.

Jurassic Referee Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Eric,
I see your point, but I don't think LGP is always necessary to draw a pc foul. Not having LGP merely puts the "greater responsibility" on the defender; not 100% of it.

True. The biggest example of this could be the dribbler pushing off with an arm. LGP means nothing as to how you would call this play. The dribbler can't just crash into a defender who has a legal position on the floor either, even though that legal position doesn't include LGP. Casebook play 10.6.1SitE points that out nicely.

Nu1 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am

One thing to think about...can the player dribble or not?

NFHS Case Book, under Rule 7;
If A1 tips a ball before going OOB, he/she can return inbounds, secure the ball AND dribble.

If A1 controls the ball before going OOB (i.e. grabs it and throws it inbounds before falling OOB), he/she can return inbounds and secure the ball BUT CANNOT dribble.

This situation is confused a lot! Being a new official, I have friends and coaches who ask, "What about..." This has been one of those subjects. Unfortunately, officials often have differing opinions on this, even though the rules book and case book - for NFHS - seem to make it clear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1