The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Re: Re: Confusion

[QUOTE]Originally posted by mdray
Quote:
Originally posted by Eric Huechteman

your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.
Actually it does apply. The rule book says nothing about how the ball gets away, only that it does. If any other player were nearby, he could simply pick the ball up. If that does not fit the definition of "gotten away from the dribbler," I don't know what does.

Think about it this way: If A1 and B1 get to the ball at the same time and contact occurs, you would not call a foul on B1, but you must if A1 had "control" unless B1 established guarding position on A1 first.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1