![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			NCAA rules: 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			A1 goes in for layup. Just as A1 starts the layup motion (lifting the ball from hip level), B1 swings at it, and stuffs it - all ball. But B1's hand does not stay on the ball. A1 returns to the court with the ball. What's the call? I'll let you know what I called after I see some responses. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	HOMER: Just gimme my gun. CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check... HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Prevented release.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Held ball. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			Might also have a T on A! when s/he tells you that you were wrong and it was a BS call. ![]() 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			4-35-1a: 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			A held ball occurs when an opponent places his or her hand(s) on the ball to prevent an airborne player from throwing the ball or attempting a try. A.R. 28 then addresses this situation: A1 jumps to throw the ball, B1 prevents the throw by placing one or both hands on the ball and: (a) A1, or (b) A1 and B1 both return to the playing court holding the ball. RULING: Held ball. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I got a held ball here. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			Camron recently posted a summary of the relevant rulings. 1) Defense touches ball, causing it to come loose: anyone may recover the ball, no travel if shooter catches and returns to floor. 2) Defense touches ball, preventing release of shot: held ball immediately. 3) Defense touches ball, but does not prevent release of shot: travel, if shooter returns to the floor while holding the ball. My own judgment is usually not good enough to determine when #3 happens. If the ball is touched intentionally (not just brushed by accident by the defense), it usually looks to me like the release of the shot was prevented and I go with #2. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Defense touches the ball (or not) but does not prevent the release. A1 chooses to drop the ball and is the first to touch it after returning to the floor...travel.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |