The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in VIOLATION 1.3 in NIT SEMI (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12989-throw-violation-1-3-nit-semi.html)

iamaref Tue Mar 30, 2004 09:34pm

Just wondering if anyone noticed the throw-in violation called by Lucky in the NIT SEMI..

BIG TIME call cuz... it took away there chance to score.

Was it right.. ????

after looking at it on replay...

looks as if he likely still had a foot inside the 3 foot area that he has to make the throw in... tv lies at times though.. and anyone knows that...

he made a good signal.. and thank god he didn't signal traveling violation.. as a guy did in last years NCAA tourny..

Nevadaref Tue Mar 30, 2004 09:38pm

I'm taping the game to watch later. I'll post my thoughts when I review it.

Damian Tue Mar 30, 2004 09:44pm

The talking heads called it Traveling...
 
It looked to me that he did not leave the 3' boundry. The commentators were talking up about how they are taught to keep the pivot foot down...balh blah blah. I didn't agree with the call, but, 3 foot isn't that far especially looking from the TV angle. So, it could have been right on.

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 30, 2004 09:55pm

They only re-played it once. I would have liked to have seen it again. I thought that the player moved up the sideline past the 3-foot area, and then stepped back and got a foot back into the 3-foot area when he actually made the throw-in. Looked like a good call to me.

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:05pm

Watched the last few seconds at the bar after my softball meeting. The call was a good one. Player went from the backcourt side of the division line to the front court side of it. That would have to be at least a stride of at least 3 feet.

TriggerMN Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:31pm

I didn't think he went past the 3-foot box. Just my humble opinion.

Ref Ump Welsch Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:37pm

By the way, saw it on a big screen TV. Blocked out all the boozing sand volleyball players in the bar to take a look at the replay. Popular person I was, not!

CoachW Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:07am

How is 3 ft. measured?

I could not find in rulebook, maybe in casebook which I do not own, but how is the three feet measured? Is it 1.5 feet from the center of the body of the thrower, or some other way? I've wondered for a while, but have never seen it called other than when it was REALLY obvious (Thrower runs baseline when they shouldn't, something like that) but I just wondered.

Thanks, Coach W

rainmaker Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by CoachW
(Thrower runs baseline when they shouldn't, something like that)
The basic soccer throw-in. Yup, that's illegal. getting the details on a less obvious violation is more difficult. I hope someone gives you a definitive answer, buecause I have trouble with this too.

just another ref Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:46am

It is 3 feet the same way that closely guarded is 6 feet.:)

BoomerSooner Wed Mar 31, 2004 04:52am

The 3ft area is the designated spot. If a player decides to stand at the far left of the 3 foot area then all 3ft or whatever is left over is to the right of player. Its custom to point to the center of the designated spot and put the player there. From there they have 18" to either side. Of course this area is bounded by the side line or endline, but it does extend infinitly backward (at least by rule).

I do bring this question forward to the discussion, and I think its been discussed before, but anyway...could a player move backward and then move up the bleachers as long as he is withing the 3ft side to side limit??? The rule does say on or over the designated spot. =P

Stan Wed Mar 31, 2004 07:38am

Are NFHS and NCAA rules the same for spot throwins?

Mark Dexter Wed Mar 31, 2004 08:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by BoomerSooner
The 3ft area is the designated spot. If a player decides to stand at the far left of the 3 foot area then all 3ft or whatever is left over is to the right of player. Its custom to point to the center of the designated spot and put the player there. From there they have 18" to either side. Of course this area is bounded by the side line or endline, but it does extend infinitly backward (at least by rule).

I do bring this question forward to the discussion, and I think its been discussed before, but anyway...could a player move backward and then move up the bleachers as long as he is withing the 3ft side to side limit??? The rule does say on or over the designated spot. =P

"Advantage not provided for in the rules . . ."


A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Mar 31, 2004 08:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Watched the last few seconds at the bar after my softball meeting. The call was a good one. Player went from the backcourt side of the division line to the front court side of it. That would have to be at least a stride of at least 3 feet.
Just how wide are the midcourt lines in your neck of the woods? They are only 2" here! :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 31, 2004 09:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Watched the last few seconds at the bar after my softball meeting. The call was a good one. Player went from the backcourt side of the division line to the front court side of it. That would have to be at least a stride of at least 3 feet.
Just how wide are the midcourt lines in your neck of the woods? They are only 2" here! :)


A 3' wide foot center line. That'd be cool! :D

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Mar 31, 2004 09:20am

Dang y'all! No, we don't say that here in Nebraska. I should clarify my earlier posting. From what I saw, he was at least a foot deep from the division line in the backcourt, and moved clear over to about a foot deep past the division line into the frontcourt. That would be 2 feet. Someone mentioned 18 inches from where they're designated either way. Soooo, do the math!

ShadowStripes Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:35am

I thought it was a good call. The player did move from a point behind the center line to a point in front of the center line before throwing. It was close, and I think the player was hurt by the fact that the ball was right at the center line because it gave a visual reference that made the movement look more like a violation.

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:54am

I agree with ShadowStripes. You could tell the difference when the player made his move.

Junker Wed Mar 31, 2004 01:18pm

I thought it was a great call! Too bad they didn't call it again later on. Did I mention I went to Iowa State? All kidding aside, it looked like he moved far enough for a violation, andd just to show I'm not biased, I thought the T on Homan was well deserved. He's a jerk and has needed someone to tap him again for a few games. He throws alot of elbows after plays and is just pretty much a thug. Hopefully he learned his lesson and cleans up his play for next year.

iamaref Wed Mar 31, 2004 02:32pm

Good discussion.

I just don't know that i agreed with the call...

The player is entitled to be out of the 3 foot area.. as long as he has a part of his foot still inside any part of that initial 3 foot area.

He may very well have been out of it... i couldn't tell.

Just seemed that it was not something that needed to be called at that juncture... ONLY BECAUSE it was so debatable wether he was actually out of the spot.

It's like in volleyball or tennis.. if a server is just barely touching the line.. and it is so close that you have to get a microscope and camera to see it. Then you probably don't call it on match point Wimbelton (spelling)

Anyhow..

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Mar 31, 2004 03:58pm

Match point at Wimbeldon (spelling incorrect I think). It might have happened if one of the players was John McEnroe. Imagine the tirade that would have been!!!

Mark Dexter Wed Mar 31, 2004 05:21pm

Wimbledon.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 31, 2004 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Wimbledon.


Preceded by Wimbledo and Wimbledid.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1