The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   OOB situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12551-oob-situation.html)

IURef Wed Mar 03, 2004 05:11pm

Team A has the ball OOB on baseline Player B1 is guarding the inbounds with his back to the baseline. Is it legal for A1 to throw the ball off of B1's back and pick the ball up and try to score??

Please reference the Rule if possible. And also what the penalty if any would be

Thanks

Rich Wed Mar 03, 2004 05:38pm

It's legal as long as the thrower-in establishes himself on court with in-bounds status before picking up the ball.

What rule would you like me to reference -- the definition of an out-of-bounds violation?

The only penalty would be if the player touched the ball before gaining in-bounds status and that would simply be loss of possession on the violation.

--Rich

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 03, 2004 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IURef
Team A has the ball OOB on baseline Player B1 is guarding the inbounds with his back to the baseline. Is it legal for A1 to throw the ball off of B1's back and pick the ball up and try to score??

Please reference the Rule if possible. And also what the penalty if any would be


A1 has made a legal throw-in, as per NFHS rule 9-2-2, as soon as the throw-in touches B1. As long as A1 has in-bounds status when he again touches the ball, there's nothing to call. Good play.

mick Wed Mar 03, 2004 06:38pm

small point.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by IURef
Team A has the ball OOB on baseline Player B1 is guarding the inbounds with his back to the baseline. Is it legal for A1 to throw the ball off of B1's back and pick the ball up and try to score??

Please reference the Rule if possible. And also what the penalty if any would be


A1 has made a legal throw-in, as per NFHS rule 9-2-2, as soon as the throw-in touches B1. As long as A1 has in-bounds status when he again touches the ball, there's nothing to call. Good play.

...And A1 is inbounds as long as he is not out of bounds. (ie, one foot in, and neither foot out, in meets the requirement.)
mick

IURef Wed Mar 03, 2004 08:49pm

thanks for all your replies. just needed a little clarifying on that.


thanks

Hawks Coach Thu Mar 04, 2004 12:51pm

Saw this in the WCAC boys final on Sunday evening (good for two easy points for Gonzaga College HS, but they lost anyway), and again last night in the Maryland-NC State game(good for two and they won by 1 point).

Smart play - these teams needed FHSURef to ball watch for the defense to avoid this problem ;)

Snake~eyes Thu Mar 04, 2004 05:46pm

I saw this in the Maryland game, nice play lol :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1