The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Opening Tip (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12468-opening-tip.html)

BigGref Fri Feb 27, 2004 12:46am

My question is about the opening tip. Team Red(A) and White(B) are tipping it up A1 tips it once and catches it, partner calls a violation. Where does AP go? I told the scorekeeper to give it to Red next AP opportunity.

Is this right, since A got control of it first does it give White AP also?

rainmaker Fri Feb 27, 2004 01:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by BigGref
My question is about the opening tip. Team Red(A) and White(B) are tipping it up A1 tips it once and catches it, partner calls a violation. Where does AP go? I told the scorekeeper to give it to Red next AP opportunity.

Is this right, since A got control of it first does it give White AP also?

If A violates, B gets the ball, A gets the arrow.

BoomerSooner Fri Feb 27, 2004 02:00am

I seem to recall a case book play suggesting that if A1 caught the tip, B received the ball and the arrow. This comes from the fact that the violation is a result of A1 catching and thereby possessing the tip. Therefore A1 had initial possession - possession arrow to B - whistle and violation on A1. Ball to be inbounded by B.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 27, 2004 02:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by BoomerSooner
I seem to recall a case book play suggesting that if A1 caught the tip, B received the ball and the arrow. This comes from the fact that the violation is a result of A1 catching and thereby possessing the tip. Therefore A1 had initial possession - possession arrow to B - whistle and violation on A1. Ball to be inbounded by B.


That was a rule change 2 years ago. Useta be the rule. No longer. If A1 catches the tip, it's now B's ball OOB and A get's the AP. New case book play is 6.3.1SitC(d).

footlocker Fri Feb 27, 2004 10:30am

I have seen the violation called wrong twice this year. After the ball hits the ground (i.e. the jump ball ends when the ball contacts the floor) the jumper may catch the ball. Both games I was a spectator.

One-Whistle Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:28pm

Jump Ball
 
Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
I have seen the violation called wrong twice this year. After the ball hits the ground (i.e. the jump ball ends when the ball contacts the floor) the jumper may catch the ball. Both games I was a spectator.
YOU ARE CORRECT!

My initial thought was that you had made a mistake with your statement, but upon further review of the jump ball rules, I discovered that you are indeed correct.

I had previously thought that neither jumper could be the first to gain possession of the ball, but this is not true.

NFHS 6-4-7c ...
Neither jumper shall:
a.) Touch the tossed ball before it reaches its highest point.
b.) Leave the center restraining circle until the ball has been touched.
c.) Catch the ball.
d.) touch the ball more than twice.

The jump ball and these restrictions end when the touched ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, the floor, a basket, or backboard. (Boldface added for emphasis)


footlocker Sun Feb 29, 2004 01:07pm

Dang...
Wouldn't you know it. I'm working a game yesterday when the exact situation occurs from the original post. I set the arrow toward the violating team. Partner has it changed and doesn't even tell me. I ask him about the arrow being wrong and he tells me the old rule. Kinda dismisses me too. I told him we'll go his way but, he's wrong.

Later we find the rule and he apologizes. This goes to show, it's not enough for us to know the rules, our partners have to be up on them too. Otherwise, we both look bad. (not like anyone else knew the rule)

MisterV Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:46am

I just want to make sure I am reading this right so I don't sound stupid in a game. As if I don't sound stupid already.

On a jump ball, either of the jumpers may control the tip in the circle IF the ball has hit the ground, or another player, first.

Also, if my tall kid steals the tip, the ball will go to the other team, but I will get the arrow.

I have a co-worker who is a HS official who disagreed with the first statement. Could you give me exact rule and casebook numbers please?

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 01, 2004 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MisterV


On a jump ball, either of the jumpers may control the tip in the circle IF the ball has hit the ground, or another player, first.


I have a co-worker who is a HS official who disagreed with the first statement. Could you give me exact rule and casebook numbers please?

Coach, One-Whistle cited the rule for you above, and also copied it out of the book as well- i.e. Rule 6-4-7.

mplagrow Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:57pm

?????
 
Another jump ball question, I'm sure it's in the book. . .A1 and B1 jump, the ball is tipped out of the circle. A2 and B2 grab the ball simultaneously. Refs signal jump ball. Who jumps????

zebra44 Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:17pm

A2 and B2 now jump.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1