The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12448-backcourt.html)

eyezen Wed Feb 25, 2004 02:09pm

Saw this posted on another forum, looked in the case book at 9.9.1 and couldn't find anything definite on this play. The closest i could get was 9.9.1.a

Any help?

"If a player is in the frontcourt and jumps backcourt to receive a pass from a player in the backcourt, but he is still in the air when he receives the pass, is this a backcourt violation? I saw this last night, I was sitting on the half-court line and I thought the ball never left the backcourt nor broke the plane. I always thought the rule was basically everything across, ball and both feet of player, and nothing back. My guess is there is more to the rule than that because the call was made by one of the better officials around in my opinion."

[Edited by eyezen on Feb 25th, 2004 at 01:57 PM]

ChuckElias Wed Feb 25, 2004 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by eyezen
Posted on another forum, looked in the case book at 9.9.1 and couldn't find anything definite on this play.

Don't really need a casebook play on this one, it's pretty easy to figure out. Take it step-by-step. . .

For a backcourt violation, we need 4 things, right? They are:

1) team control
2) frontcourt status
3) Team A is last to touch before it goes backcourt
4) Team A is first to touch after going backcourt.

So, in your play. . .

Quote:

If a player is in the frontcourt and jumps backcourt to receive a pass from a player in the backcourt, but he is still in the air when he receives the pass, is this a backcourt violation?

There is passing going on, so we have team control (unless it's a throw-in pass). There's #1. When the player jumped from the frontcourt, he had frontcourt status. So when he catches the ball, the ball also has frontcourt status. That's #2. But that's all we have. So no violation at this point.

However, if the player then lands in the backcourt with the ball, #3 and #4 will both be met at the same time. And so, we'd have a violation.

Quote:

I always thought the rule was basically everything across, ball and both feet of player, and nothing back.
This person thought wrong, that's all.

eyezen Wed Feb 25, 2004 02:45pm

Clears it up, Thanks.

BktBallRef Wed Feb 25, 2004 02:46pm

Further, the "plane" has absolutely nothing to do with it
and three points is only an issue when the ball is being dribbled.

footlocker Wed Feb 25, 2004 03:14pm

Well that was broken down quite explicitly. Nice job chuck.

Lotto Wed Feb 25, 2004 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by eyezen
"If a player is in the frontcourt and jumps backcourt to receive a pass from a player in the backcourt, but he is still in the air when he receives the pass, is this a backcourt violation?"
I made this exact call not too long ago in a JV girls game. The coach was in complete disbelief because he simply didn't understand the rule. (It just so happened that I made the call right in front of him.) I wish I had Chuck there to explain it to him in such clear terms... :)

Nevadaref Tue Mar 02, 2004 01:49am

It amazes me how many people don't understand this play.
I made the same call in a summer tourney prior to this season. The coach, who is the president of the local coaches association thought I was wrong during the game, and had incorrectly penalized his team. He had confused this play with what can legally take place on a throw-in, and politely asked me about it after the game. I discussed both situations with him and explained the rulings. That's one better-informed coach.

The message is getting out, it's just a long educational process.

footlocker Tue Mar 02, 2004 01:56am

Made this call on Saturday. Coach shook his head at me. Club basketball and I didn't have the inclination to explain every call much less this one.

BoomerSooner Wed Mar 03, 2004 01:08am

Remember though, this doesn't apply to the jump ball or a defensive player. Have seen backcourt called on a defensive player jumping from his own frontcourt intercepting a pass and landing backcourt (not a violation). Assuming I'm correct I think this is something that puts us in a tough situation when based on essentially the same action the rule is applied differently depending on who makes the play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1