I was watching a game this Thursday. During the second quarter of a girls varsity game A1 is in her frontcourt, takes a three point spot to the basket with 15 seconds left on the spot clock. The basketball gets lodged between, the backboard and ring. The trial official knows he has a dead ball situation and goes to the alternate possession arrow. The possession arrow favors team A for the throw-in on the end line. Then theres confusion between the two officials. They come together and confer do we reset the shot clock or not because Team A is receiving the ball back? The referee makes a decision to reset the spot clock back to 30 seconds and team B coach is asking why is the spot clock being reset. The referee responded to team B coach because A1s spot hit the ring so new spot clock coach. My question to this situation did the officials get it right? To moderators, is there a casebook situation on this? In California we have a 35 second shot clock for boys and a 30 second spot clock for girls.
[Edited by arthur_b9 on Feb 20th, 2004 at 04:31 PM]
__________________
AB
|