The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Question

Scenario: A1 is dribbling the ball in FC being guarded by B1. A2 goes to set pick but instead, slams into B1 for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. I call a pushing foul on A2 and signal "1 and 1". My partner quickly corners me and says "no foul, its offensive, we don't shoot, possession. I'm a little stunned but I go along w his statement. We don't shoot. I can't find anything in the rules book that backs up what my partner said. Its not "offensive" (I don't think). And, I can't find anything that says "offensive" in the rule book. Only "player control"..Can anyone please advise me what is right here? Appreciate your expertise....

__________________
TL
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Your partner is either watching too much NBA, or has the NCAA rulebook in his head. In the NBA, no shots are awarded on any "offensive foul". In the NCAA, no shots are awarded for any "team control foul". The idea is the same, although the application is a little different in the details.

In any case, if you were working a high school game or using NFHS rules, you should've shot 1-and-1.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 05:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by ixic130
Scenario: A1 is dribbling the ball in FC being guarded by B1. A2 goes to set pick but instead, slams into B1 for a foul. Team B is in the bonus. I call a pushing foul on A2 and signal "1 and 1". My partner quickly corners me and says "no foul, its offensive, we don't shoot, possession. I'm a little stunned but I go along w his statement. We don't shoot. I can't find anything in the rules book that backs up what my partner said. Its not "offensive" (I don't think). And, I can't find anything that says "offensive" in the rule book. Only "player control"..Can anyone please advise me what is right here? Appreciate your expertise....

Your partner was thinking of NCAA rules. Team control fouls (which this would be) do not result in free throws. High school rules do not make this distinction unless the guilty party has the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1