The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 15, 2004, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Here's a question that came up in my pre-game yesterday. (Great game, by the way. Home team had a HUGE upset win on Friday night. Emotionally drained, maybe partied too much after the game. Saturday, they find themselves down by 24 to the #8 ranked D3 team in the country. They come all the way back and cut it 2 points with under 30 seconds to play. Couldn't pull out the win, but oh what fun!)

Anyway, here's the question. Team A has control of the ball in front court when B1 races up to the official and requests a TO. Brain-dead official blows the whistle, intending to grant the TO to Team B.

Basically, the question is, can the official rule that this is an inadvertant whistle, NOT grant the TO, and put the ball back in play?

My understanding is that in HS, this would not be allowed. I think that in HS a TO that is granted, even in error, is allowed and the team can take the full TO.

But my partner wondered if the "granting" of the TO hasn't really occured yet. In other words, the whistle doesn't grant the TO. It's not granted until it's reported as a TO. Well, if that's true, then it seems like you could just say "Bad whistle, and there's been no TO granted. Let's play."

Thoughts from a HS perspective please.

Now, from an NCAA perspective, something like this actually happened to me once (I posted about it a long time ago). I blew the whistle to grant a TO, but the coach didn't want it unless his team scored on the possession. Communication screw-up. Anyway, the R comes over and says, "He didn't want it, so we don't grant it." And we just resumed the game.

So yesterday, I'm looking through the NCAA book, and I can't find any rule or AR that supports that procedure, either.

Thoughts from an NCAA perspective please.

Because now, I don't really know what to think about this stupid thing in either rule-set. Anybody have a definitive case play or rule covering the granting of TO's?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1