The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Need Some Advice!!!!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12078-need-some-advice.html)

future ref Wed Feb 04, 2004 09:11pm

Hey everybody,
I am a young teen who is 13 going on to 14 years old. I have wanted to be a ref for basketball since I was 7. Right now since I am a kid I referee at a Upward Basketball League which is a church league. In order to furfill my dream to be a NBA referee I definitley need some advice. I WILL TAKE ANYTHING! Please tell me because believe it or not I look up to all off you and seek advice from expierinced referees. So please give me some advice on furfilling my dream and and tell me what I have to do to get there from you higher referees. THANKYOU!

ref18 Wed Feb 04, 2004 09:21pm

A few hints that i've been given by veteran officials, or that i have read on this board, or that i have learned from experience.

1. Never blow the whistle, BLAST IT!!!!
2. Use your voice, make sure everyone that needs to can hear your call
3. Use nice crisp signals
4. Use only the mechanics specified in the manual.
5. Keep your shoes shiny, and your uniform clean and presentable.
6. Don't worry about when coaches b*tch and moan about the calls you are making. The majority of the time, you're right and they don't know the rules.

I'm not sure if i read this on this forum, or someone said this at one of my association meetings, but its an invaluable piece of advice that you'll do well to follow.

Always tuck your whistle inside your shirt when you go to the bathroom.