The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   double dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12057-double-dribble.html)

footlocker Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:25am

We had this situation in our JV game last night.

My partner is coming from Lead to Trail as home team brings the ball upcourt. There is some pressure on A1 in the backcourt. A1 takes the ball, while dribbling, and passes the ball (with one hand) by pushing it towards another player. (This pass was obvious, but the ball did not come to rest in his hand.) The player he passed to (A2) was not expecting it and took off. A1 runs after his own pass and recovers it with a bat to the floor where he continues his dribble.

I wasn't sure about the call. My partner whistled the double dribble. We looked at the rulebook 9-5-3 & 4-15. Does the dribble end when a player passes the rock? Is this a double dribble or legal play?

Help me out with rule interpretation here. One varsity official said it should have been a no call, the other was not sure.

[Edited by footlocker on Feb 4th, 2004 at 11:46 AM]

Dan_ref Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
We had this situation in our JV game last night.

My partner is coming from Lead to Trail as home team brings the ball upcourt. There is some pressure on A1 in the backcourt. A1 takes the ball, while dribbling, and passes the ball (with one hand) by pushing it towards another player. (This pass was obvious, but the ball did not come to rest in his hand.) The player he passed to (A2) was not expecting it and took off. A1 runs after his own pass and recovers it with a bat to the floor where he continues his dribble.

I wasn't sure about the call. My partner whistled the double dribble. We looked at the rulebook 9-5-3 & 4-15. Does the dribble end when a player passes the rock? Is this a double dribble or legal play?

Help me out with rule interpretation here. One varsity official said it should have been a no call, the other was not sure.

Seems like just another dribble to me the way I read it.

Adam Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:35am

Think about it this way. Would the action have warranted a double dribble had A2 never been there and the pass intent not been so obvious? If it's a dribble pass (player never really relinquishes dribble) as you suggest by saying it never came to rest, then I'm thinking a nocall here. It seems like an interrupted dribble to me.

Adam

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:36am

Legal play. The dribble did not end under any of the provisions of R4-15-4. Call it an interrupted dribble, as per R4-15-5.

RefRx Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:45am

Since the dribble did not end by definition sounds like A1 id a heads up play

Board28'er Wed Feb 04, 2004 12:39pm

I agree with the other replies. It sounds like an interrupted dribble, and therefore would be a no call.

ChuckElias Wed Feb 04, 2004 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
A1 takes the ball, while dribbling, and passes the ball (with one hand) by pushing it towards another player. The player he passed to (A2) was not expecting it and took off. A1 runs after his own pass and recovers it with a bat to the floor where he continues his dribble.
Ok, so we have a dribble by A1, then we have a bat by A1 toward another player, then we have another bat by A1, which bounces to the floor.

Seems to me that there is one piece of information missing here. What happened between the two bats? If the ball touched the floor between the two bats, then the play is legal. But if A1 batted the ball into the air towards A2 and then batted it again before it touched the ground, we have a violation. (FED 4-15-2 "ART. 2 . . . During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).)


I agree that the original post sounds like it was probably a bounce pass from A1 toward A2, but if not, then we have a problem.

DJ Wed Feb 04, 2004 02:15pm

Say what?
 
You can fumble, dribble, fumble but you can't dribble, fumble dribble so apply it to this situation and come up with your ruling!! This little saying helps to summarize any interpetations.

ChuckElias Wed Feb 04, 2004 02:35pm

DJ, that saying may be true, but it doesn't apply here. There's no fumble. There's a dribble and a bat (controlled tap). Since the dribble didn't end with the bat, he may continue to dribble under certain circumstances.

Adam Wed Feb 04, 2004 03:23pm

You can't fumble during a dribble. If you lose control, it's an interupted dribble, not a fumble.

DJ Wed Feb 04, 2004 03:26pm

Bat?
 
Can a bat be a part of a dribble? Or is it just a dribble? The official has to determine if it is a dribble, an interupted dribble , a fumble or a pass. I don't see how it can be more than one. I can't see how an interupted dribble could be intentional and then be called a pass and finally an extension of his dribble? If he intentionally interupted his dribble I would lean in the direction of a double dribble. I think he made a mistake and now should lose his right to dribble again because he intentionally interupted his dribble. Are not the rules written to reward good play? He just made a bad pass and his reward will be a chance to dribble again?Just my humble opinion.

footlocker Wed Feb 04, 2004 03:34pm

Does a dribble end when a player passes the ball?

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 04, 2004 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DJ
Can a bat be a part of a dribble?


Sure can. A "bat" is part of the definition of a dribble in Rule 4-15-1 & 2. There's no rule prohibiting a player from intentionally interrupting their dribble with a bat.

Dribble-bat-dribble has always been legal, as long as the dribble isn't ended, and the player doesn't touch the bat until it hits the floor again.

Dan_ref Wed Feb 04, 2004 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
Does a dribble end when a player passes the ball?
Depends on what he does prior to passing it.

Adam Wed Feb 04, 2004 03:57pm

Show me where a pass, by itself, ends a dribble, and I'll reconsider. You'll of course also need to show me a rule-book definition of a pass. Dribble passes do not end the dribble, as far as I'm concerned. There's no rule to back that up.

Grail Wed Feb 04, 2004 04:02pm

It may look ugly, and the fans and opposing coach are sure to be yelling, but it still seems legal to me.

Mregor Wed Feb 04, 2004 05:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Show me where a pass, by itself, ends a dribble, and I'll reconsider. You'll of course also need to show me a rule-book definition of a pass. Dribble passes do not end the dribble, as far as I'm concerned. There's no rule to back that up.
Show me how this fits the definition of an interrupted dribble. If it is a pass, it's not an interrupted dribble.

Mregor

DJ Thu Feb 05, 2004 11:42am

I've been thinking!
 
I've been thinking about the original play which can be dangerous so correct me if I'm wrong. It is the job of the official to determine if it is an interupted dribble or the the player has ended his dribble and then decided to pass. In the original post the pass was done in such a manner that it is really an interupted dribble that happens to go to the players teammate. If that same thing happened but did not go to a teammate the officials interpetation would be an interupted dribble in which case he can dribble as long as the player does not pick up the ball which would end the dribble. In the original post the pass also called a dribble pass(not in the rule book) is really an interupted dribble and not a pass.

Mregor Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:33pm

Re: I've been thinking!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DJ
I've been thinking about the original play which can be dangerous so correct me if I'm wrong. It is the job of the official to determine if it is an interupted dribble or the the player has ended his dribble and then decided to pass. In the original post the pass was done in such a manner that it is really an interupted dribble that happens to go to the players teammate. If that same thing happened but did not go to a teammate the officials interpetation would be an interupted dribble in which case he can dribble as long as the player does not pick up the ball which would end the dribble. In the original post the pass also called a dribble pass(not in the rule book) is really an interupted dribble and not a pass.
9-13, <B>An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler.</B>

IMO, an interrupted dribble is not an intentional act. We've discussed this numerous times and everone has their own opinion. I say it is not an interrupted dribble. If the player did not end his dribble, I've got a violation when he touches the ball after being OOB because the loose ball is part of his dribble. If he ended his dribble, I've got an illegal dribble when he returns and begins dribbling again. As originally described, I say it was part of the dribble, play on.

Mregor

DJ Thu Feb 05, 2004 01:04pm

Thanks for the help!
 
Thank you mregor. My illogic is becoming more like logic.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1