The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2004, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 18
I have a quick question on interpretation. When the whistle is blown for a time out, are you granting the timeout for when it is called or when you blow the whistle? Had a situation the other night that my partner blew the whistle for a time out by Team A’s coach while his team was being pressed in the backcourt. At approximately the same time I blew my whistle for a 10 second count. We got together and decided that his whistle was in fact first but Team B’s coach was adamant that they were simultaneous and the 10 second call should stand. First off, I told him that my partners whistle was first and the time out was granted. After the game I got to thinking that even if we had simultaneous whistles, the time out could still be granted since the whistle was to acknowledge the request.

Other thoughts would be appreciated here.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1