![]() |
Saw this at an AAU tourney last weekend...A1 commits his 5th foul, which results in 2 shots for B1. B1 shoots the first FT and misses. It is then discovered that A1 has, in fact, fouled out. The officials (I'm 99.9% certain) erroneously replaced the disqualified player and then "re-did" the shot, awarding B1 2 free throws from that point. Their rationale was that if they allowed team A 30 seconds to replace the player, it would 'ice' the shooter. There was also some discussion that the first FT might have been a correctable error because it was awarded erroneously (a DQ'ed player was on the court). What should have been done here?
|
Not what they did.
All you can do is replace the player when you are informed and continue. You cannot make the FT shooter shoot again. There is no rule backing this up. This is a scorer mistake at best. You cannot rule this as a correctable error.
Peace |
Quote:
Those boys were thinking to much. They should read a little more and they wouldn't be so silly. I agree with Rut. Replace the disqualified player when the 5th is recognized, no matter when it happens during a game. DQ'd players are DQ'd players. :) mick |
By rule, a player is not disqualified until the official has notified the coach. Therefore, all action until that points will count.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm. |