The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt violation question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11905-backcourt-violation-question.html)

pank Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:24am

How does 9.9.1 apply to this situation?

A1 in FC is pressured and passes to A2 near half court. Before A2 catches pass, B1 touches the ball. A2 tries to control ball and touches it before it goes in the BC and continues into BC before gaining control? I called it a violation. Right or wrong?

Does touch by B1 affect team control or is last touch by A2 in FC the determining factor, even though A2 didn't have control?

Rich Mon Jan 26, 2004 02:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by pank
How does 9.9.1 apply to this situation?

A1 in FC is pressured and passes to A2 near half court. Before A2 catches pass, B1 touches the ball. A2 tries to control ball and touches it before it goes in the BC and continues into BC before gaining control? I called it a violation. Right or wrong?

Does touch by B1 affect team control or is last touch by A2 in FC the determining factor, even though A2 didn't have control?

Violation, followed by a coronary by the team A coach.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:40am

If A2 is in the FC, then it's a violation.

pjf54 Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:50pm

re: 9.9.1 query by pank
 
In re to 9.9.1 if A1 is passing from under his own basket and A2 is out by the half court line, and A1 passes to A2 who is off balance. The ball is then deflected into the backcourt by A2 who can not control the pass,would this also be backcourt if A2 went to get the ball?

Jurassic Referee Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm

Re: re: 9.9.1 query by pank
 
Quote:

Originally posted by pjf54
In re to 9.9.1 if A1 is passing from under his own basket and A2 is out by the half court line, and A1 passes to A2 who is off balance. The ball is then deflected into the backcourt by A2 who can not control the pass,would this also be backcourt if A2 went to get the ball?


Depends. If A1 was in bounds when he made the pass, then you would have a backcourt violation. If A1 was making a throw-in from OOB under his own basket, then there's no violation because team A never established control in their frontcourt. See casebook play 4.12.6(b).

Welcome to the Forum.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Mar 9th, 2004 at 05:00 PM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1