The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11824-whats-call.html)

Cyber-Ref Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:26pm

Girls rec league, NFHS rules. Had this happen several times. Player attempts a shot the ball goes straight up not being tipped and not touching any part of the backboard or rim. Same player catches the shot. I call a violation. Is this correct? What specifically is the violation?

RecRef Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
Girls rec league, NFHS rules. Had this happen several times. Player attempts a shot the ball goes straight up not being tipped and not touching any part of the backboard or rim. Same player catches the shot. I call a violation. Is this correct? What specifically is the violation?
If it is a shot you have nothing. Play on.

JRutledge Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:35pm

Tony, come get your money!!!
 
This is nothing. You have been watching too much NBA. After a try has been made by the shooter, there is not restriction for anyone to get the ball. Not under NF Rules or NCAA Rules.

Peace

chayce Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:35pm

If the release was a shot, this is not a violation. Coaches may want the walk but it is not...it is a rebound.

Cyber-Ref Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:41pm

OK I got it now. What if the release was not a shot but the same player catches the released ball?

Mike Burns Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
NFHS rules...Player attempts a shot...Same player catches the shot.
Since you have determined that this was a try for goal then it is a rebound.

Mike Burns Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
OK I got it now. What if the release was not a shot but the same player catches the released ball?
travel.

Tim Roden Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:58am

Yea, I had an older ref come up to me the other day and said. Would you beleive ..., he had a no whistle when a guy shot an air ball and then got his own rebound. I told him that ... was right. He disagreed and I told him to find it in the book. He couldn't. I win. End of argument. I told him I may be a younger official but it has not been in the NFHS rule book since I started in 97.

Ref in PA Thu Jan 22, 2004 08:55am

Not so fast ...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mike Burns
Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
OK I got it now. What if the release was not a shot but the same player catches the released ball?
travel.

The player must move the pivot foot for this to be a travel. A player may stand in the same spot and toss the ball into the air and catch it again all day long and be legal as long as the pivot foot does not move. However, if the player moves the pivot foot, the play does become a travel violation.

Foncal Thu Jan 22, 2004 01:34pm

Catching the Ball
 
4.43 B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. Aa1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/own try, A1 could either dribble, pass, or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-40>

NFHS 04

-- Take care

Mike Burns Thu Jan 22, 2004 01:56pm

Re: Not so fast ...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:

Originally posted by Mike Burns
Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
OK I got it now. What if the release was not a shot but the same player catches the released ball?
travel.

The player must move the pivot foot for this to be a travel. A player may stand in the same spot and toss the ball into the air and catch it again all day long and be legal as long as the pivot foot does not move. However, if the player moves the pivot foot, the play does become a travel violation.

Good point! Thanks for catching that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1