The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2004, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 71
My partner and I "dropped the ball" last night...As we opened up the fourth quarter, we accidentally let the teams go the wrong way. White took the throw in from half court like they should have, but we sent them going away from their bench instead of toward it. They inbound the ball, bring it into the (wrong) frontcourt, pass it around and then drill a 3. About 14 seconds run off the clock and then we realize we screwed up. I was the U in this two-whistle game, so luckily I didn't have to make the final decision, but I still had input into the decision that was made (I'm almost positive we did it wrong). Here's what we did: since the basket was scored in red's basket, we gave 3 points to red and gave the ball OOB to red for a throw-in during which they were permitted to run the baseline if needed. After getting home and taking a look at the books, it seems from the simplified and illustrated book that we should have given the basket to the white team, instructed the teams to go the right way from that point forward and it would have been red ball with the baseline run permitted. SO...TWO QUESTIONS...WERE WE WRONG IN WHAT WE DID? and IS MY "RIGHT" ANSWER REALLY CORRECT?

*Note: The white team was up by about 30 points when this happened, so we were fortunate that our mistake(s) did not play into the outcome of the game
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1