The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11693-backcourt-violation.html)

SteveF Wed Jan 14, 2004 08:15am

Last night had a JV game. Ball was out of bound a few feet into A's front court from the division line. A1 threw the ball into A2 who was in A's front court. A2 however missed catching the ball and it bounced off the top of his foot and went into the backcourt. A3 went and retrieved it. Tweet. Partner had backcourt violation. Was that correct call or would you say that A never had team control?

Danvrapp Wed Jan 14, 2004 08:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by SteveF
Was that correct call or would you say that A never had team control?
Sure they did. They had team control when A1 had the ball. The ball then gains FC status by touching A2, and the ball gained BC status when it crossed back over the division line. A3 first to touch - violation.

mick Wed Jan 14, 2004 08:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by SteveF
Last night had a JV game. Ball was out of bound a few feet into A's front court from the division line. A1 threw the ball into A2 who was in A's front court. A2 however missed catching the ball and it bounced off the top of his foot and went into the backcourt. A3 went and retrieved it. Tweet. Partner had backcourt violation. Was that correct call or would you say that A never had team control?
Neither a fumble, nor a bat, will establish player control; thus, no team control in this instance.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2004 08:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by SteveF
Last night had a JV game. Ball was out of bound a few feet into A's front court from the division line. A1 threw the ball into A2 who was in A's front court. A2 however missed catching the ball and it bounced off the top of his foot and went into the backcourt. A3 went and retrieved it. Tweet. Partner had backcourt violation. Was that correct call or would you say that A never had team control?
To establish team control, you first need player control.

To get player control, a player must be holding or dribbling a ball in-bounds.

You didn't have the "holding or dribbling" so you didn't have player control, so you didn't have team control.

No violation.




mick Wed Jan 14, 2004 08:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Danvrapp
Quote:

Originally posted by SteveF
Was that correct call or would you say that A never had team control?
Sure they did. They had team control when A1 had the ball. The ball then gains FC status by touching A2, and the ball gained BC status when it crossed back over the division line. A3 first to touch - violation.


:)

Adam Wed Jan 14, 2004 09:41am

I've kicked this call this year and called a violation.

ChuckElias Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
To get player control, a player must be holding or dribbling a [live] ball in-bounds.
Assuming you're working a HS game. . .

Dan_ref Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
To get player control, a player must be holding or dribbling a [live] ball in-bounds.
Assuming you're working a HS game. . .

Yeah, but in the interest of staying on topic you might have added "...but the BC rule is not in effect during throw-ins under ncaa rules".

mick Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
To get player control, a player must be holding or dribbling a [live] ball in-bounds.
Assuming you're working a HS game. . .

I was of the impression that Team Control was modified, not player control. Oh, well....

BktBallRef Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Danvrapp
Quote:

Originally posted by SteveF
Was that correct call or would you say that A never had team control?
Sure they did. They had team control when A1 had the ball. The ball then gains FC status by touching A2, and the ball gained BC status when it crossed back over the division line. A3 first to touch - violation.

You're kiddin', right? :confused:

Dan_ref Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
To get player control, a player must be holding or dribbling a [live] ball in-bounds.
Assuming you're working a HS game. . .

I was of the impression that Team Control was modified, not player control. Oh, well....

Last version said a player's in control when holding a live ball or dribbling while inbounds, maybe not 100% clear if they player holding the live ball needed to be inbounds. There was some shuffling and this year player control was reworded to more clearly say that a player has control
a) holding a live ball or
b) dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Explained as being a "clarification" of the rule's intent.

Make sense?


Edit: Need to mention this is under NCAA, not fed.


bob jenkins Wed Jan 14, 2004 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[BLast version said a player's in control when holding a live ball or dribbling while inbounds, maybe not 100% clear if they player holding the live ball needed to be inbounds. There was some shuffling and this year player control was reworded to more clearly say that a player has control
a) holding a live ball or
b) dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Explained as being a "clarification" of the rule's intent.

Make sense?


Edit: Need to mention this is under NCAA, not fed.

[/B]
Yes -- in which case the answer is the same (no BC violation), but the reasoning is different -- there's a BC exception for a throw-in in NCAA rules.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1