The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   White Coaches, Black Referee (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11567-white-coaches-black-referee.html)

Woodee Thu Jan 08, 2004 06:47am

Last night I had to T up two Asst Coaches trying to be Bobby Knight. In both instances the coaches jumped off the bench and yelled at the top of their lungs at my partner.

Well, when I got home I was telling my 17 year old son (who plays HS B-Ball) what happened and he said "Dad I know they didn't yell at you". I replied no, but why do you say that and he asks "were they White Coaches", I said yes, "with White players" I say yes "and was your partner White" I say yes, my son ended, "they are not going to yell and scream at a Black Referee because they are afraid of how you might react". It made me think for a minute and you know, noone has yelled or screamed in my face, YET!

Since I'm new to officiating is this somewhat true?

Mike Follett Thu Jan 08, 2004 08:08am

I think....

the fact that you have't been screamed at yet by a coach is more the result of you're being a relatively new official, than it is the fact that you're black. Do this long enough; it will happen to you, too. UNLESS, you're a 6'-6" 280# black man. Then, you may never have a coach scream at you. And if that's the case, I'll take you as a partner anytime!!

mick Thu Jan 08, 2004 08:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by Woodee
Last night I had to T up two Asst Coaches trying to be Bobby Knight. In both instances the coaches jumped off the bench and yelled at the top of their lungs at my partner.