The Official Forum

The Official Forum (
-   Basketball (
-   -   Goal or No Goal - UConn Game (

GA ref Sat Dec 20, 2003 03:09pm

Just saw a highlight of today's UConn Men's game. A player went up for a dunk, the ball clearly went below the rim and was still in the net when it hit the offensive shooter in the head. The ball then rebounded back through the rim and exited the goal area. What do you have ? Goal or No Goal ? The officials in the game did not count the basket. Were they correct ? What rule & sections covers this situation ?

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 20, 2003 04:11pm

The ball has to pass completely through the net to count.I think that this definition is in the first section of Rule 5 in both the NCAA and FED rulebooks.

ChuckElias Sat Dec 20, 2003 08:00pm

It's basket interference to touch the ball while it's still within the basket (which includes the net).

Kelvin green Sat Dec 20, 2003 08:11pm

Goal does not count. Officials were correct. This is one of the rulings consistent from NF to NCAA to NBA

JLC Tue Dec 23, 2003 09:19am

So in this case there is no basket. Is there a whistle, for BI, or do you just play on?

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1