The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2003, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by imagomer
First, Shout out to Barry, yo!

The game's over and we missed a few layups and a few foul shots..., but: Is a backboard frame considered to be part of the "support?" Is there a local way to acheive future consistency here?

So I'm coaching last night, V Girls, Robertsdale,Alabama. My team's shot hit rim, then top of Bboard (not a very soft touch), then into my rebounder's hands (not "over" the Bboard). My interp of NFHS Rule 7-2.c (gasp..I read my rulebook-Barry made me)is that this ball is still in play, and not OOB. I asked the official for a rules interp: he said the frame of the rectangular bboard constituted a "support," and that if the ball touched the frame/support, the ball was OOB, even on the side of the bboard. He said to be ruled In Bounds, the ball would need to touch the pad that covers the bottom of the board and extends about one third the way up the side of the board. Advice and judgements appreciated. Thanks.
All sides including the top of the backboard are in bounds. Not sure what you mean by "frame" here but any structure that the backboard itself is attached to that might be on the top or sides of the backboard are out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1