The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   BI or GT (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11160-bi-gt.html)

ScifiREF Wed Dec 10, 2003 02:22pm

What is the call?

On a fast break A1 attempts layup while ball is on rim B1 slaps the backboard.

A)Try is good.
B)Try is not good. (yes the slapping of the backboard cause the try not to be good)

Thanks
ScifiREF


davidw Wed Dec 10, 2003 02:30pm

Intent is the key. Did B intentionally slap the backboad, or was it a result of his attempt to block the shot. If intentional, by rule it is a technical foul.

In practice, if the ball goes in, I usually have a no call and we're going the other way.

If I judged it intentional, we shoot the 2 shot tech. with ball to A at mid-court

just another ref Wed Dec 10, 2003 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ScifiREF
What is the call?

On a fast break A1 attempts layup while ball is on rim B1 slaps the backboard.

A)Try is good.
B)Try is not good. (yes the slapping of the backboard cause the try not to be good)

Thanks
ScifiREF


Technical foul, either way, if the slap is ruled intentional, (not part of a natural motion of a shot block attempt) or if it caused the ring to vibrate. This cannot be basket interference or goaltending, even if it appears that the contact caused the shot not to be good. (This, I think, would be a tough call, anyway.)

zebracz Fri Dec 12, 2003 04:31am


[/B][/QUOTE]

Technical foul, either way, if the slap is ruled intentional, (not part of a natural motion of a shot block attempt) or if it caused the ring to vibrate. This cannot be basket interference or goaltending, even if it appears that the contact caused the shot not to be good. (This, I think, would be a tough call, anyway.) [/B][/QUOTE]

Hey justanotherref, do you have a rule reference? Cuz, I think I'd call basket interference, if the vibrating caused the try to miss...

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 12, 2003 07:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebracz


Hey justanotherref, do you have a rule reference? Cuz, I think I'd call basket interference, if the vibrating caused the try to miss... [/B][/QUOTE]Hey zebracz,do you have a rule reference that would allow you to make that call?


WinterWillie Fri Dec 12, 2003 08:45am

Rule Reference NFHS 10-3-5b. specifically states that intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard, or is in the basket, or is in the cylinder above the basket, you charge the player with a player technical. The rule makes no mention of the ball on the rim.

Rule Reference NFHS 9-11-1 states that basket interference occurs when a player...touches the ball or basket, (including the net), when the ball is on or within either basket. There is no mention of the backboard. My interpretation of this rule would make the backboard part of the basket, thereby making the striking of the backboard while the ball is on the rim, basket interference, that maybe subject to debate. There is no mention of intentionally striking the backboard. There is an exception to this rule if the player's hand is in legal contact with the ball.

ChuckElias Fri Dec 12, 2003 09:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebracz
Hey justanotherref, do you have a rule reference? Cuz, I think I'd call basket interference, if the vibrating caused the try to miss...
Sigh. Why does this persist? Why? The BI rules are so black and white. :(

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie

Rule Reference NFHS 9-11-1 states that basket interference occurs when a player...touches the ball or basket, (including the net), when the ball is on or within either basket. There is no mention of the backboard. My interpretation of this rule would make the backboard part of the basket, thereby making the striking of the backboard while the ball is on the rim, basket interference, that maybe subject to debate.

No debate. Your interpretation is 100% wrong. The backboard is NOT part of the basket. See rule 1-10-1. It defines exactly what the basket is - i.e. the ring,it's flange and braces, and the net.

WinterWillie Fri Dec 12, 2003 11:56am

Relying on your interpretation, there is no basket interference. You make the call.

ChuckElias Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
Relying on your interpretation, there is no basket interference. You make the call.
You just made it, Willie. There's no basket interference. What else you got in mind? :confused:

WinterWillie Fri Dec 12, 2003 01:15pm

There is a gaping hole in the rules on this one. If the ball is on the rim and a player unintentionally touches the net, you've got BI. In a hypothetical, if the ball is on the rim and a defensive player unintentionally strikes the backboard causing the rim to vibrate, you've got nothing. Does that seem fair to you? As my old buddy Spike Barruth says when I ask him about being fair, "Every dunk in college ball is a technical foul, but does anyone call it."

rockyroad Fri Dec 12, 2003 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
There is a gaping hole in the rules on this one. If the ball is on the rim and a player unintentionally touches the net, you've got BI. In a hypothetical, if the ball is on the rim and a defensive player unintentionally strikes the backboard causing the rim to vibrate, you've got nothing. Does that seem fair to you? As my old buddy Spike Barruth says when I ask him about being fair, "Every dunk in college ball is a technical foul, but does anyone call it."

#1: There is no gaping hole in the rule...you might not like the rule, but that's the way it goes. And if you would seriously call a T for unintentionally touching the net, then there are bigger problems here than disagreeing with a rule.

#2: whether it is fair or not makes no difference...call it correctly - just ask Bobby Knight and Ted Valentine about that rule...would be a fun conversation to eavesdrop on...

#3: Who is Spike Barruth, and why is he giving you such bad advice on rules about dunking???

Dan_ref Fri Dec 12, 2003 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
There is a gaping hole in the rules on this one. If the ball is on the rim and a player unintentionally touches the net, you've got BI. In a hypothetical, if the ball is on the rim and a defensive player unintentionally strikes the backboard causing the rim to vibrate, you've got nothing. Does that seem fair to you? As my old buddy Spike Barruth says when I ask him about being fair, "Every dunk in college ball is a technical foul, but does anyone call it."

I think old Leonard is pullin' your leg a bit...maybe what he means is more often than not the monster dunk ends up with the kid hanging on the rim for a second or 2 longer than needed and for no good reason.

Back In The Saddle Fri Dec 12, 2003 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by WinterWillie
There is a gaping hole in the rules on this one. If the ball is on the rim and a player unintentionally touches the net, you've got BI. In a hypothetical, if the ball is on the rim and a defensive player unintentionally strikes the backboard causing the rim to vibrate, you've got nothing. Does that seem fair to you? As my old buddy Spike Barruth says when I ask him about being fair, "Every dunk in college ball is a technical foul, but does anyone call it."

#1: There is no gaping hole in the rule...you might not like the rule, but that's the way it goes. And if you would seriously call a T for unintentionally touching the net, then there are bigger problems here than disagreeing with a rule.

#2: whether it is fair or not makes no difference...call it correctly - just ask Bobby Knight and Ted Valentine about that rule...would be a fun conversation to eavesdrop on...

#3: Who is Spike Barruth, and why is he giving you such bad advice on rules about dunking???

Actually, I believe he's arguing that slapping the backboard should be BI, not that touching the net should be a T.

JeffTheRef Fri Dec 12, 2003 03:10pm

This problem has been around forever
 
It invites mayhem in the coaching mind every tme somebody slaps the backboard with the ball on the rim. Officials are asked to judge hundreds of things - they should be empowered to judge whether or not the action was:

1) intentional

2) had an effect

There has to be intent - you have to let players protect themselves from banging into the backboard.

Wake up, rules committee.

rob.wilson Mon Dec 15, 2003 04:49pm

Depends if the backboard or goal shakes or moves. If he is trying to block the ball, I would disregard it. But if he did it intentionally, I would call basket interference. Now if the ball is in the square and he touches it, then its automatically goaltending. My 2 cents.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 15, 2003 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
Depends if the backboard or goal shakes or moves. If he is trying to block the ball, I would disregard it. But if he did it intentionally, I would call basket interference. Now if the ball is in the square and he touches it, then its automatically goaltending. My 2 cents.
Rules references, please.


Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 15, 2003 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
Depends if the backboard or goal shakes or moves. If he is trying to block the ball, I would disregard it. But if he did it intentionally, I would call basket interference.
And if you did call BI, you would be completely wrong. You really need to review the definition of basket interference. It's R9-11.

rainmaker Mon Dec 15, 2003 08:35pm

It has been so nice to coast along doing girls games and not have to worry about any of this! Even so, I have called the slapping the backboard thing once, at camp, and got snaps from the evaluator for it. So the discussion has been helpful, even for a "guurrlls" ref. The trick, folks, is to heed the words of Chuck, mick, bob, Tony and Jurassic. They know what they talkin' bout.

ChuckElias Mon Dec 15, 2003 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
Depends if the backboard or goal shakes or moves. If he is trying to block the ball, I would disregard it. But if he did it intentionally, I would call basket interference. Now if the ball is in the square and he touches it, then its automatically goaltending. My 2 cents.
rob, I thought it was you and me against the world, but not if you're gonna make that call :(

rob.wilson Tue Dec 16, 2003 09:03am

Chuck, I do think its us against the world! I will also add this statement too, if you go directly buy the rules, then the game would be stopped every second. Game management is also a big part of the game and if someone slaps the backboard and it shakes causing the ball the be dislodged from the rim, I will call BI. If the player slaps the backboard trying to get an advantage or just showing off, I will T him up! If you ask me, its all judgement! Thats my other 2 cents, now I am broke!

bob jenkins Tue Dec 16, 2003 09:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
Chuck, I do think its us against the world! I will also add this statement too, if you go directly buy the rules, then the game would be stopped every second. Game management is also a big part of the game and if someone slaps the backboard and it shakes causing the ball the be dislodged from the rim, I will call BI. If the player slaps the backboard trying to get an advantage or just showing off, I will T him up! If you ask me, its all judgement! Thats my other 2 cents, now I am broke!
This call has nothing to do with game management.

You'd have been better off using that $.02 to buy a rule book or go to a camp.


Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 16, 2003 09:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
Game management is also a big part of the game and if someone slaps the backboard and it shakes causing the ball the be dislodged from the rim, I will call BI.
Do that, and I guarantee that you will have a great future behind you.

Why do you insist on making up your own rules? Aren't the ones in the NFHS rule book good enough for you?

rob.wilson Tue Dec 16, 2003 09:28am

No need to get nasty about it, I was just giving my opinion...sorry if it has rubbed you the wrong way. I do follow the rules and I have a rule book and actually did excellent on the test. I guess from now on, i will just quote the rules and leave my opinion out of it. Sorry if I offended anyone.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
No need to get nasty about it, I was just giving my opinion...sorry if it has rubbed you the wrong way. I do follow the rules and I have a rule book and actually did excellent on the test. I guess from now on, i will just quote the rules and leave my opinion out of it. Sorry if I offended anyone.
Unless we're discussing what the rule *should be*, there's not much room for opinion on this question.

Slapping the backboard is either a T or it's nothing. It's never BI.


rob.wilson Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:06am

Thanks for your input. But like I said, not need to get upset or pushy.

rob.wilson Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:07am

Thanks for your input. But like I said, no need to get upset or pushy.

ChuckElias Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
I will also add this statement too, if you go directly buy the rules, then the game would be stopped every second.
rob, that's just not true. The rules instruct us to call contact situations by the advantage/disadvantage principle. So even tho there is contact every second, that does not require us to stop the game every second.

Quote:

Game management is also a big part of the game
True, but this is a rules question, and not a game management situation.

Quote:

if someone slaps the backboard and it shakes causing the ball the be dislodged from the rim, I will call BI.

Then your call would be absolutely 100%, without question, without subject to interpretation, incorrect. I'm not being nasty, pushy, or anything else. But by rule, you are wrong. And if you make that call while being observed, I guarantee you will catch a boatload of grief for it. Heck, even if you're not being observed, I'd give you grief as your partner after the game.

You say you have a rulebook. Do me a favor and read rule 4-6. Tell me if that sounds like you're supposed to "manage" those situations.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 16, 2003 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rob.wilson
Thanks for your input. But like I said, not need to get upset or pushy.
The problem is that it actually re-inforces the popular myth that it is BI when the the backboard is slapped. I had a coach beg for that just last night.

To call this mythical rule (like all the others) makes it harder for the rest of us who call it right. We have reason to be upset...particularly when someone insists on continueing to call it wrong even when the correct call is clearly demonstarted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1