The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of bounds. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11076-out-bounds.html)

Mregor Mon Dec 29, 2003 02:29pm

I was just reading through the current issue of Referee magazine and they talked about this situation. The article was written by an IABO interpreter and from what I got out of it, it is illegal when they come back inbounds and continue the dribble. My understanding was that it would not be a violation if they just picked up the ball, but then they would have to pass or try for goal. I don't mave the magazine with me so I can't quote word-for-word. Did anyone else see this?

Mregor

bob jenkins Mon Dec 29, 2003 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
I was just reading through the current issue of Referee magazine and they talked about this situation. The article was written by an IABO interpreter and from what I got out of it, it is illegal when they come back inbounds and continue the dribble. My understanding was that it would not be a violation if they just picked up the ball, but then they would have to pass or try for goal. I don't mave the magazine with me so I can't quote word-for-word. Did anyone else see this?

Mregor

Yes, and I disagree with what was said.

Either the dribbler still had control and it's a violation to step on the line, or the dribbler didnt' have control and it's not a violation to retouch the ball -- whether to pick it up or dribble it.

Bart Tyson Mon Dec 29, 2003 03:46pm

I noticed this last issue had several mistakes.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 29, 2003 07:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
I noticed this last issue had several mistakes.
That's one of the reason's I dropped the magazine. They frequently have errors like this. They're often not typos but are actually outright incorrect interpretations and cases.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:07am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
I still disagree that it is an interrupted dribble. It does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble. The player directed the ball to go a certain way. That is not an interrupted dribble.
The ball momentarily gets away from the dribbler. By definition, that's an interrupted dribble. It makes no difference that he intentionally allowed the ball to get away. The rule does not require that the loss of control be accidental.

Further, there's no player control during an interrupted dribble. If it's not an interrupted dribble, then player control exists and you would have to rule a violation as soon as the dribbler touches OOB.

BTW, if that's what the IAABO interpreter wrote, he's dead wrong and he is NOT supported by rule.

And I, too, dropped REFEREE magazine because I got tired of sifting through all the errors.

rainmaker Tue Dec 30, 2003 10:02am

Re: It momentarily got away from him.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Where does it say that a player who intentionally bats the ball in a certain direction constitues an interrupted dribble? I think Casebook 7.1.1 situation D sums it up

Mregor

The fact that he anticipated that doesn't mean that he chose to let it get away. It means he was smart.

Think of it as "the dribbler getting away from the ball", rather than "the ball getting away from the dribbler." This is a completely different play from when the dribbler steps on a line or out of bounds as he continues his dribble uninterrupted. Player control is not lost in that case, whereas it is in the posted play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1