The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out-Of-Bounds Situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11045-out-bounds-situation.html)

Dougster45 Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:00pm

Can someone explain NFHS Case Book 7.2.2 to me?

<b>7.2.2 Situation:</b> A throw-in by A1 (a) strikes B1 who is inbounds and rebounds in flight directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds; (b) is batted by B1, who is inbounds and the ball is next touched by A1 who is still out of bounds. <b>Ruling:</b> A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds and it is awarded to Team B at that spot for a thorw-in for both (a) and (b).

I have always thought that the player that the ball last touched inbounds caused the ball to go out of bounds. Is this a typo? I'm just a rookie and could use the help.

bty-excellent forum!

whistleone Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dougster45
Can someone explain NFHS Case Book 7.2.2 to me?

<b>7.2.2 Situation:</b> A throw-in by A1 (a) strikes B1 who is inbounds and rebounds in flight directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds; (b) is batted by B1, who is inbounds and the ball is next touched by A1 who is still out of bounds. <b>Ruling:</b> A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds and it is awarded to Team B at that spot for a thorw-in for both (a) and (b).

I have always thought that the player that the ball last touched inbounds caused the ball to go out of bounds. Is this a typo? I'm just a rookie and could use the help.

bty-excellent forum!

Welcome to the forum. I hope you get as much out of it as the rest of us. As for your question: You're reading into it a little too much. By reading the question, yes B1 did cause the ball to go out of bounds but A1 caused the ball to be out of bounds by touching it. B1 caused the ball to be considered out of bounds when B1 touched the ball in bounds. A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds when A1 touches the ball out of bounds. Don't get thrown off by the "causes the ball to go out of bounds". Either way, B's ball for a designated spot throw-in.

Barry C. Morris Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:08pm

Rule 7-2-1 states:
The ball is caused to go out of bounds by the last player in bounds to touch it or be touched by it, unless the ball touches a player who is out of bounds prior to touching something out of bounds other than a player.

I hope this helps. Good luck this season and welcome to the forum.

LukeZ Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:08pm

It would be A's ball if the ball contacted bench personnel or a spectator out of bounds, but A1 is a player. B's ball. Read rule 7-2-2

Dougster45 Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by LukeZ
It would be A's ball if the ball contacted bench personnel or a spectator out of bounds, but A1 is a player. B's ball. Read rule 7-2-2
I feel a little embarrassed, after reading again it makes perfect sense. My mind kept telling me that A was being awarded the ball and I couldn't figure this out, even though it states that B was awarded the ball. I think that maybe I've been reading too much this morning. :-0

Thanks for the help everyone.

[Edited by Dougster45 on Dec 3rd, 2003 at 12:19 PM]

LukeZ Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:32pm

Hey, that's why we're here :) Better to ask and know for sure then to mess it up during a game ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1