The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 12:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18
NF

I've been thinking about this for a while now, and I can't seem to find a rule/case specifying this. A1, while in the act of shooting, is fouled by B1. During the following dead ball, there is a technical foul called on either A2 or B2. How is this administered? Clear the lane and do the personal foul FT's first, then the tech FT's, then the ball at div line; or tech FT's first, then personal foul FT's w/ the lane filled?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 12:53am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,767
Lightbulb NF Rules only.

You are always going to shoot the FTs in the order in which they happen. So you will shoot the FTs that were before the T. Then shoot the T. Both should be shoot with the lane cleared. Then the offended team of the T, gets the ball at the division line.

Peace



__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18
Ok, good. That's the way I've always done it, but I started to question myself

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 05:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 93
Send a message via Yahoo to zebracz
Question ...and in NCAA?

Hey JRut:

Is NCAA any different? I've heard it is...any ideas (anyone?) thx...
__________________
"Have you ever heard of the 5-pt play--a multiple foul on a 3-pt try that goes?" LoL
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 06:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: ...and in NCAA?

Quote:
Originally posted by zebracz
Is NCAA any different? I've heard it is...any ideas (anyone?) thx...
In NCAA, shoot the technical FTs immediately, then return to the point of interruption, which in this case is A1's FTs. The lane spaces are occupied, and play continues as after any normal FTs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1