![]() |
|
|||
Imagine defender B1 guarding A1 in the right block. B1 has inside position. A1 makes a spin move around B1 but leads with the elbow, using the back of the left arm to hold the defender's left side. This prevents B1 from moving into position to stop the spin and A1 gets an easy lay-up/dunk (girls/boys
![]() See it all the time, it gets called about half the time. Difference between what I said and previous post is previous poster implies displacement (a push). I have no displacement, but the contact prevents normal defensive movement. [Edited by Hawks Coach on Nov 20th, 2003 at 02:58 PM] |
|
|||
This is a tough one for me to call. The offensive player almost always "leads" with the elbow, b/c when you spin to the basket, your arm is almost always leading your body. The tricky part is judging whether that arm/elbow was used to hold the defender. And for me, that's very hard to judge. I'm not going to call it just b/c the player led with the elbow.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
The key is contact and impeding movement - if it is clear the defender was prevented from staying with the offensive player because of the hook, it should be a foul.
And I don't agree that they always lead with the elbow - a good move is initiated with good footwork, not with a hook. |
|
|||
Quote:
But I like the way you teach it, Hawks Coach. ![]() mick |
|
|||
I think that I stated that the hook starts with the elbow. It then develops into a hold with either the upper or lower arm. It is tough to judge, but good moves are often made without ever putting the lead arm on the defender. That was my point - post players don't always hook to beat somebody.
You have to judge whether 1) the offensive player beat the defender cleanly so the arm is incidental to the play (protecting the offensive player and saving the defender from moving in and fouling) or 2) the offensive player can't make a good enough move and is using the arm to create the necessary space that he lacks the quickness to create on his own. The latter is a foul, even without clear displacement, if you see that the offense impeded the defender from making the play. Also, this is probably where reffing the defense will help, because you will see better if the defender was beaten cleanly or by "hook." |
|
|||
The "hook" I see most often is the kind used to secure position down low. A1, guarded by B1, B1 has inside position. A1 wraps one or both of his arms back to hold the defender in place, so he can receive a pass and gain position.
Chuck's bang on though, the other kind is a tough, tough, call to judge, because it happens so fast. The only time it's really obvious is when the offensive player hooks around the defender's chest or higher, then it's really obvious - but other than that, very hard to call.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun. CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check... HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Downturn
This thread took a real downturn when it entered Nevada...
![]() For me the obvious hook is when a player has one arm leading the move and the other arm beginning the dribble. If I see that the leading arm is only out to prevent the defender from being able to make legal defensive moves... player control foul. The not so obvious is when both hands are on the ball as he pivots and the arm is not extended much more than just the elbow. If the offensive player catches the defender with this simple pivot then the defender is likely too close to realistically make any defensive move and is easily beat whether the elbow was out or not... I'm not going to call any foul on that. For a foul to be called here the offensive player has got to make a very obvious bump backwards against the defender and then pivot into the opening just created or make an exagerated elbow hook that pins the defender as that defender is legally trying to gain position. I think it is the 'exagerated or not' decision that makes this a difficult call. An elbow can only be extended so far so what gets it into the gray area? Full extension might be alright. Half extension with a little lean might not. I think the decision really weighs in with what does the action do to the defender. Was the defender in a proper position and then loose ability to defend because of the elbow/hook - call a foul. Good move, defense was beat to begin with - don't call a foul. My two bits... well maybe four. ![]()
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|