![]() |
Does returning to point if interruption mean resetting the shot clock or not? cannot find in NCAA book where it says not to reset the clock.
|
Yes you reset the shot clock
|
Agreed. Always reset after a foul. But not if you return to the point of interruption after a correctable error.
|
Quote:
With regards to technical fouls (which I believe is what we were addressing), under NCAA Rules, the shot clock resets after any technical foul - indirect or direct - even if the offense retains possession. Note that a double technical foul would result in the shot clock being reset. Ed Bilik addressed this at the NCAA Meetings. Basically the rules committee did not think that it would be a problem, but if it presents an advantage, we will probably see a rule change in the next year or two. |
I guess I'm confused here. The impression I had was that point of interruption means situation as it was - therefore no reset.
Where does it say to reset after a technical foul? |
Quote:
NCAA 2-13-6(b). |
I found it just after I posted, thanks for the answer.
|
Interesting scenario.
Team A up 2 pts with 50 seconds on the game clock, 35 on the shot clock with no Time outs left. Team A controls until the game clock gets to 30, and then A calls a TO. B gets one FT for the excessive TO. A still leads by 1 point and A gets the ball back and now the shot clock is reset (turned off now because there is only 30 seconds left in the game). Unfair advantage to A? They effectively get 2 shot clock periods. I think this will have to be changed soon. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07am. |