The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Maybe a new question for the Back Court Violation Quiz (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10813-maybe-new-question-back-court-violation-quiz.html)

Ref in PA Thu Nov 13, 2003 02:34pm

In our chapter meeting last night, this situation was presented:

A1 begins to take a shot for goal at the top of the key. A) Before A1 releases the ball, or B) After A1 releases the ball, B1 swats the ball from behind and the ball bounces off of A2 who is in front court and bounces into back court where A3 retrieves the ball. Violation or Not? Why?

bob jenkins Thu Nov 13, 2003 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
In our chapter meeting last night, this situation was presented:

A1 begins to take a shot for goal at the top of the key. A) Before A1 releases the ball, or B) After A1 releases the ball, B1 swats the ball from behind and the ball bounces off of A2 who is in front court and bounces into back court where A3 retrieves the ball. Violation or Not? Why?

Violation in (a) as team control still exists. Not a violation in (b) because team control ended when the ball left A1'a hands on a try.


BktBallRef Thu Nov 13, 2003 03:58pm

We discussed it last year.

It's on the NFHS website this year.

Not crazy about the interpretation for A) but guess we'll live with it.

Hawks Coach Thu Nov 13, 2003 04:26pm

I agree on both points!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
We discussed it last year.

It's on the NFHS website this year.

Not crazy about the interpretation for A) but guess we'll live with it.


Mark Dexter Thu Nov 13, 2003 11:13pm

Not really sure how B1 could swat the ball from behind and have it result in a BC violation . . . :p, but the interpretation makes sense from the team control perspective.

Tim Roden Fri Nov 14, 2003 12:55am

I don't think I would call bk in either situation. I would think that the act of shooting would consitute loss of team control. But if the interpretation is the other way then that is what I must call.

Hawks Coach Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Not really sure how B1 could swat the ball from behind and have it result in a BC violation . . . :p, but the interpretation makes sense from the team control perspective.
What difference does front or behind make. The interp is that if B knocks ball loose before release, it isn't a shot and there is no loss of team control. Why does B's position on this play matter to you? If A still has team control and A2 touches before it goes backcourt, it is a backcourt violation by rule. Not that I like it. . .

But please explain the significance of B's positioning on this play.

Dan_ref Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Not really sure how B1 could swat the ball from behind and have it result in a BC violation . . . :p, but the interpretation makes sense from the team control perspective.
What difference does front or behind make. The interp is that if B knocks ball loose before release, it isn't a shot and there is no loss of team control. Why does B's position on this play matter to you? If A still has team control and A2 touches before it goes backcourt, it is a backcourt violation by rule. Not that I like it. . .

But please explain the significance of B's positioning on this play.

I think Mark is concerned with the physics - he does that a lot you know...no one likes a show-off Mark! :)

Mark Dexter Sat Nov 15, 2003 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach

What difference does front or behind make. The interp is that if B knocks ball loose before release, it isn't a shot and there is no loss of team control. Why does B's position on this play matter to you? If A still has team control and A2 touches before it goes backcourt, it is a backcourt violation by rule. Not that I like it. . .

But please explain the significance of B's positioning on this play.


It doesn't affect the interpretation, just makes for a poorly worded situation. I'm assuming that, in taking a shot, A1 is facing the basket. If B1 comes up behind A1 and swats the ball away, it's probably going to go toward the basket and/or endline.

Nevadaref Sun Nov 16, 2003 06:23pm

Since I wrote the play in the first place, I'll clarify.

In real life the defender came from the side. Also the ball did not hit a teammate of the shooter, he spun around and knocked the ball into the backcourt himself to prevent the defender who blocked his shot from picking it up. Then his teammate gained possession.

Hawks Coach, for part a, even though the ball was not released, it is still a try and a blocked shot by definition. Team control simply continues though because the try was never in flight.

I'll also bet that the PA refs didn't give me credit when bringing up this play at their meeting! :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1