The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS TEST #74 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10791-nfhs-test-74-a.html)

Tweets Tue Nov 11, 2003 09:11pm

EASY, I KNOW. GOT THE ANSWER BUT DOES ANYONE KNOW THE SPECIFIC RULES REFERENCE?

BktBallRef Tue Nov 11, 2003 09:47pm

Why not post the question?

Tweets Tue Nov 11, 2003 09:56pm

OOPS
 
IT IS A VIOLATION IF A1'S THROW-IN FROM OUTSIDE THE ENDLINE NEAR A'S BASKET IS CAUGHT BY A2 IN A'S BACKCOURT.

Jurassic Referee Tue Nov 11, 2003 10:23pm

Re: OOPS
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tweets
IT IS A VIOLATION IF A1'S THROW-IN FROM OUTSIDE THE ENDLINE NEAR A'S BASKET IS CAUGHT BY A2 IN A'S BACKCOURT.
LEGAL PLAY. SEE NFHS CASEBOOK PLAY 4.12.6SIT(B).

DID YOU HEAR ME ALRIGHT?

Larks Tue Nov 11, 2003 10:23pm

No Team Control on Throw in. No Violation.

Found it in the NF Illustrated Book

7-6-1 Number 4 passes the ball from out of bounds outside the end line to his teammate in backcourt. This is legal as there is no player or team control during a throw-in and the ball does not have either frontcourt or backcourt location during a throw-in. Once control is established in backcourt, A will have 10 seconds to advance the ball to A' s frontcourt.

Larks Tue Nov 11, 2003 10:25pm

Per JR's ref.....


4.12.6 SITUATION: During a throw-in by A1 from the end line by A' s basket: (a) A2 is in the restricted lane area; or (b) the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3. Ruling: There is no three-second count in (a) or a backcourt rule in effect in (b) during a throw-in. The throw-in ends in (b) when A2 touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control. (9-7, 8)

Tweets Tue Nov 11, 2003 10:45pm

THAT'S IT
 
4.12.6 SITUATION: During a throw-in by A1 from the end line by A' s basket: (a) A2 is in the restricted lane area; or (b) the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3. Ruling: There is no three-second count in (a) or a backcourt rule in effect in (b) during a throw-in. The throw-in ends in (b) when A2 touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control. (9-7, 8)
----------------------------------------------------------

THAT'S WHAT I WAS LOOKIN 4 THX, I HADN'T LOOKED IN THE CASE BOOK YET.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1