![]() |
|
|||
We had a state rules clinic about a month ago in which the instructor stated that if a player receives his/her 5th foul and is disqualified any subsequent technical the DQ'd player receives between the time the coach is notified and the DQ'd player sits on the bench is also a DIRECT technical on the coach.
An official attending the clinic asked the instructor to clarify because he (we all) thought the instructor had made a mistake. To make a long story short, the instructor stated that this is the "intrepretation" of the state association, TASO, and this is the way TASO wanted the situation called. Since then, I've discussed the "interpretation" with other officials and we pretty much thought TASO was out of their minds. Also, because of you guys (and gals) on this discussion board, I went back and re-read the applicable rule and case book references (Case Book 2.8.4 Disqualification Procedure). Actually, the COMMENT was the most interesting find. It leaves very little to "interpret" by TASO. It reads, "Once the coach is notified, the disqualified player becomes bench personnel and any subsequent technical foul on that disqualified player is also charged indirectly to the head coach." Anyone else out there had this discussion? Would love some of your usual insight and guidance. Thanks everyone. [I edited out 1 paragraph which referred to NCAA Appendix V & Disqualified Player after I realized it did not apply.] [Edited by rpirtle on Nov 9th, 2003 at 07:30 PM]
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want. |
Bookmarks |
|
|