The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable error? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10733-correctable-error.html)

Rev.Ref63 Thu Nov 06, 2003 09:19pm

After a held ball, 'A' gets the ball due to the possesion arrow pointing in their direction. After the ball has been put into play, the arrow switched, on the next dead ball, the time keeper imforms the official that they forgot to switch the arrow resulting in the wrong team getting the ball.

My response was that it is not a correctable error and that the arrow remain where it is. I could not find a rule or case that backs up my statement. What do you think?






Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 06, 2003 09:28pm

The casebook play that you are looking for is 6.3.1SitD. Team B gets the next arrow.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 6th, 2003 at 08:34 PM]

rainmaker Thu Nov 06, 2003 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rev.Ref63
After a held ball, 'A' gets the ball due to the possesion arrow pointing in their direction. After the ball has been put into play, the arrow switched, on the next dead ball, the time keeper informs the official that they forgot to switch the arrow resulting in the wrong team getting the ball.

My response was that it is not a correctable error and that the arrow remain where it is. I could not find a rule or case that backs up my statement. What do you think?

RevRef -- I'm glad to see you back! How's life? Okay, sorry, off topic.

I can't tell whether the arrow switched or didn't switch. You say it switched, but then the table said it didn't? You can't just arbitrarily change what the arrow actually shows. If it shows A now, but the table says it should be showing B, you need to know why they think that. If it shows A now, but A got the last one, and then forgot to change it at that point, then B gets the ball. It's not a correctible error in the formal sense of rule 2-10, but it's a fixable mistake -- if everyone's sure that's the correct assessment of the situation. But if they think they forgot to change it a couple of arrows ago, it's too late. If they switched it after the last AP throw-in came in, and they think they shouldn't have -- well, why do they think that? Be sure you get all the "logic" out on the table before you acquiesce too quickly.

rainmaker Thu Nov 06, 2003 09:30pm

Doggonit, Woody!! Okay, it's my own fault, I was being wordy.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 06, 2003 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Doggonit, Woody!! Okay, it's my own fault, I was being wordy.
Yeah, I don't know any of the big words- like "acquiesce". :D

mick Thu Nov 06, 2003 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The casebook play that you are looking for is 6.3.1SitD. Team B gets the next arrow.

And we tell Coach B,
we guarantee,
that he will get
the next two of three.

Dan_ref Thu Nov 06, 2003 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The casebook play that you are looking for is 6.3.1SitD. Team B gets the next arrow.

And we tell Coach B,
we guarantee,
that he will get
the next two of three.

<font size = 1/4>Unless we screw it up again

rainmaker Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The casebook play that you are looking for is 6.3.1SitD. Team B gets the next arrow.

And we tell Coach B,
we guarantee,
that he will get
the next two of three.

Since Padgett is threatening to retire again, you're practicing his lines?

JugglingReferee Fri Nov 07, 2003 01:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The casebook play that you are looking for is 6.3.1SitD. Team B gets the next arrow.

And we tell Coach B,
we guarantee,
that he will get
the next two of three.

This is a fantastic quote. I told this one to a rookie and he said that yes, "that would very much make the coach happy." I asked him abuot it later if he'd thought about it and he said no... when he did he called me a name.

mick Fri Nov 07, 2003 06:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The casebook play that you are looking for is 6.3.1SitD. Team B gets the next arrow.

And we tell Coach B,
we guarantee,
that he will get
the next two of three.

Since Padgett is threatening to retire again, you're practicing his lines?

I forgot who deserved the credit.
After reading JR's post Padgettss line just jingled around my empty head.

Barry C. Morris Fri Nov 07, 2003 08:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
This is a fantastic quote. I told this one to a rookie and he said that yes, "that would very much make the coach happy." I asked him abuot it later if he'd thought about it and he said no... when he did he called me a name. [/B]
J.R.,

Why should a rookie do anything different than the rest of us?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1