The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FHSAA Exam questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10699-fhsaa-exam-questions.html)

TerpZebra Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:29am

I took the Florida High School test last night. And thought I could get some discussion and answers on a few of the questions. Here they are:

#98 During the jump ball to start the first quarter, which situation establishes the alternating possession arrow for Team B? The ball is touched
A) by A2 and goes out of bounds
B) by A2 and B2 and simultaneously and goes out of bounds
C) is caught by B1
d) no answer provided

#100 A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. It is ILLEGAL if A1 lands out of bounds and
A) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds
B) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball
C) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble
D) a, b, and c are all illegal

I put C for both answers. Let me know your ideas.

TerpZebra

bob jenkins Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by TerpZebra
I took the Florida High School test last night. And thought I could get some discussion and answers on a few of the questions. Here they are:

#98 During the jump ball to start the first quarter, which situation establishes the alternating possession arrow for Team B? The ball is touched
A) by A2 and goes out of bounds
B) by A2 and B2 and simultaneously and goes out of bounds
C) is caught by B1
d) no answer provided

#100 A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. It is ILLEGAL if A1 lands out of bounds and
A) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds
B) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball
C) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble
D) a, b, and c are all illegal

I put C for both answers. Let me know your ideas.

TerpZebra

Agreed for both, although I think #98 is poorly written.


nine01c Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:08pm

#98
If B1 catches the ball from the tap, how can the AP then go to Team B? I picked D since I think the others don't apply. Am I missing something?

BktBallRef Tue Nov 04, 2003 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
#98
If B1 catches the ball from the tap, how can the AP then go to Team B? I picked D since I think the others don't apply. Am I missing something?

The AP arrow is not set when B1 catches the ball. This is a violation. It's set when A gets the ball for the throw-in, towards B.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 04, 2003 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
#98
If B1 catches the ball from the tap, how can the AP then go to Team B? I picked D since I think the others don't apply. Am I missing something?

The AP arrow is not set when B1 catches the ball. This is a violation. It's set when A gets the ball for the throw-in, towards B.

Asuming, of course, that B1 is a jumper and that the ball hadn't touched a non-jumper, the floor, an official, a backboard...

Part of why I think the question was poorly written.

BktBallRef Tue Nov 04, 2003 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
#98
If B1 catches the ball from the tap, how can the AP then go to Team B? I picked D since I think the others don't apply. Am I missing something?

The AP arrow is not set when B1 catches the ball. This is a violation. It's set when A gets the ball for the throw-in, towards B.

Asuming, of course, that B1 is a jumper and that the ball hadn't touched a non-jumper, the floor, an official, a backboard...

Part of why I think the question was poorly written.

I agree it's poorly written. But A1 and B1 are usually the two jumpers, in every jump ball play I've seen.

nine01c Tue Nov 04, 2003 01:35pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef

Asuming, of course, that B1 is a jumper...
Oh, THAT'S the part I was missing.

Maybe the instructions to the test state that A1 and B1 are jumpers (but I doubt it).

scottk_61 Tue Nov 04, 2003 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TerpZebra
I took the Florida High School test last night. And thought I could get some discussion and answers on a few of the questions. Here they are:

#98 During the jump ball to start the first quarter, which situation establishes the alternating possession arrow for Team B? The ball is touched
A) by A2 and goes out of bounds
B) by A2 and B2 and simultaneously and goes out of bounds
C) is caught by B1
d) no answer provided

#100 A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. It is ILLEGAL if A1 lands out of bounds and
A) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds
B) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball
C) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble
D) a, b, and c are all illegal

I put C for both answers. Let me know your ideas.

TerpZebra

I put A and D respectively,
We had a big discussion afterwards with no real agreement.
Where did you take the test at?
I took it in Tampa at Hillsborough High

ChuckElias Tue Nov 04, 2003 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by scottk_61
Quote:

Originally posted by TerpZebra
#98 During the jump ball to start the first quarter, which situation establishes the alternating possession arrow for Team B? The ball is touched
A) by A2 and goes out of bounds
B) by A2 and B2 and simultaneously and goes out of bounds
C) is caught by B1
d) no answer provided

I put A

Scott, it can't be (A), right? The question says that the result of the play will be that the arrow will be set toward Team B. So if A2 knocks it out (w/o gaining control), B gets the ball. So who gets the arrow. . .?

bob jenkins Tue Nov 04, 2003 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by scottk_61
Quote:

Originally posted by TerpZebra
#98 During the jump ball to start the first quarter, which situation establishes the alternating possession arrow for Team B? The ball is touched
A) by A2 and goes out of bounds
B) by A2 and B2 and simultaneously and goes out of bounds
C) is caught by B1
d) no answer provided

I put A

Scott, it can't be (A), right? The question says that the result of the play will be that the arrow will be set toward Team B. So if A2 knocks it out (w/o gaining control), B gets the ball. So who gets the arrow. . .?

That's the other part of the question that's poorly written. The rules refer to "the AP procedure being established" (in this instance by B). The question asks about "establishing the AP arrow" Is that the same thing? Who knows?

And, in (a) it isn't set when A2 knocks the ball OOB, it's set when B gets the ball for the throw-in. Similarly for (c). Is the question asking *when* the arrow is set, or what actions can lead to a throw-in where it's set? The initial part of the question reads, "During the jump ball ..." The arrow can never be set during the jump ball -- it can only be set once the jump has ended.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 04, 2003 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by scottk_61
Quote:

Originally posted by TerpZebra
#100 A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. It is ILLEGAL if A1 lands out of bounds and
A) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds
B) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball
C) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble
D) a, b, and c are all illegal

TerpZebra

I put D

A and B are legal (but a frequent myth). C is illegal only because A1 *caught* the ball first. Thus, the bounce and catch were a dribble. When A1 dribbles again, s/he's violated.


LSams Tue Nov 04, 2003 05:23pm



[/B][/QUOTE]

Agreed for both, although I think #98 is poorly written.

[/B][/QUOTE]

I thought the whole test was poorly written!!

SamIAm Tue Nov 04, 2003 06:27pm


#98 - Answer is C or d depending on the Maybe.
Sit A. team control is established on the in-bounds.
Sit B. No team control.
Sit C. Maybe. Presuming B1 is jumper, it established AP
to B because it is a violation that results in team A
receiving the first legal position. AP to B.
(B1 catching the ball did not determine the AP, A
receiving the ball to inbound did, AP is set to B after A
receives ball for throw-in.) Except in example Z, which
is refrenced from sub-part W, X, and Y. (A little humor)
Sit d. If Sit C falls on the wrong side of Maybe, Sit d is all that is left.

#100 - I missed it at first look, but agree with the know-it-alls. C.

nine01c Tue Nov 04, 2003 07:06pm


#98 - Answer is C or d depending on the Maybe.
Sit A. team control is established on the in-bounds.
Sit B. No team control.
Sit C. Maybe. Presuming B1 is jumper, it established AP
to B because it is a violation that results in team A
receiving the first legal position. AP to B.
(B1 catching the ball did not determine the AP, A
receiving the ball to inbound did, AP is set to B after A
receives ball for throw-in.) Sit d. If Sit C falls on the wrong side of Maybe, Sit d is all that is left.

[/QUOTE]

Sam: In this situation (jump ball to begin game) the AP has not been established yet. So, when it IS established, the arrow will be set BEFORE the throw-in is complete (touches a player on the court). See 4-3

So, in A, if A2 bats the ball out of bounds, then Team B will get the ball for a throw-in. The arrow will be set toward A when the ball is at B's disposal

In B, A2 and B2 will have a new jump at the center circle.

In C, B1 (the Jumper) commits a violation so Team A will get the ball out of bounds, the arrow will be set for B when at A's disposal.

In all other AP situations, you are correct. The arrow will be reversed when the throw-in ends or the throw-in team violates.

BktBallRef Tue Nov 04, 2003 10:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
#100- if C is illegal than A and B have to be illegal also. they all deal with coming back inbounds and touching the ball. the answer i believe is D.
Not true.

It is not illegal to be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounnds, nor is it illegal to dribble the ball.

C is illegal because he started a dribble when he saved the ball. When he came back in and picks up the ball, that dribble has now ended. When he dribbles again, he's double dribbled.

The answer is C.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1