The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   held ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10672-held-ball.html)

just another ref Sun Nov 02, 2003 07:12pm

Yet another question from the now famous lhsaa study guide.

211. Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to grasp the ball and A1 cannot pull it back. RULING Held ball violation-an alternating possession procedure.

True or False

ChuckElias Sun Nov 02, 2003 07:46pm

Unless something drastic has changed, this is <s>true</s> simply a held ball. Case 7.6.3 Situation F.

[Edited by ChuckElias on Nov 2nd, 2003 at 07:35 PM]

just another ref Sun Nov 02, 2003 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Unless something drastic has changed, this is true. Case 7.6.3 Situation F.
I agree that it is true. This is one that I thought was very simple, answered and moved on. The third time over, my study partner pointed out something about the wording which bothered us. I just wanted to see if anybody else noticed this.

nine01c Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:13pm

FALSE

No violation. See casebook play 6.3.5 B

Let me give this one a shot:
1) If it is a regular throw-in, you will go the the AP and award the ball accordingly (could be A or B).

2) If it is an alternating-possession throw-in, then the throw-in was never completed, and A keeps the ball (does not lose AP).

This is probably a trick question (do you call this a held ball "violation") but please let me know if I am right or wrong. Thanks

MOFFICIAL Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:17pm

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Unless something drastic has changed, this is true. Case 7.6.3 Situation F.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I agree that it is true. This is one that I thought was very simple, answered and moved on. The third time over, my study partner pointed out something about the wording which bothered us. I just wanted to see if anybody else noticed this.

The wording of RULING Held ball violation-an alternating possession procedure.
A held ball is not a violation.

just another ref Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MOFFICIAL
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The wording of RULING Held ball violation-an alternating possession procedure.
A held ball is not a violation.


That's it. I totally did not notice this myself, and I would hope that this is not significant. But who knows, we may have some psycho in the state office who sits up nights saying, " By golly, nobody makes 100 on my test."

nine01c Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:34pm

That's why I said FALSE.

ChuckElias Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:35pm

Yup, when I read the original post, I stopped reading after "held ball". I have no idea why the word violation would be there. It's not a violation. The case I cited covers the situation explicitly. There's no violation, simply a held ball. Sorry for any confustion I caused. I think I'll go edit my first post. . .

just another ref Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:39pm

might wanna edit this one, too
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Sorry for any confustion I caused.
I think you can take antibiotics for that.


Sorry, Chuck, just couldn't help myself.


Jurassic Referee Sun Nov 02, 2003 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Sorry for any <red>confustion</red> I caused. I think I'll go edit my first post. . .
As JAR pointed out, you might wanna edit this one too, Mr. Language Guy. :D

Damian Sun Nov 02, 2003 11:15pm

To nine01c. Your second situation is incorrect
 
In the alternate posession rule, the ball becomes live when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower. At that time, the alternate posession arrow is changed. Even if this is a throw because of an alternate posession, the result would be the same.

The same would be true if Team A is awarded the alternate posession arrow, gets the ball at their disposal, then commits an violation or a technical foul. Since it occurs after he has the ball at his disposal, the arrow should be changed to B.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:28am

Re: To nine01c. Your second situation is incorrect
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
In the alternate posession rule, the ball becomes live when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower. At that time, the alternate posession arrow is changed. Even if this is a throw because of an alternate posession, the result would be the same.
No sir, I'm afraid he's correct and you're wrong. The AP arrow is not changed until the throw-in is complete or A commits a violation. It does not change when the ball is administered to the thrower. If this occurs during an AP throw-in, the arrow does not change and the same team keeps the ball.

Jurassic Referee Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:58am

Re: Re: To nine01c. Your second situation is incorrect
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
In the alternate posession rule, the ball becomes live when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower. At that time, the alternate posession arrow is changed. Even if this is a throw because of an alternate posession, the result would be the same.
No sir, I'm afraid he's correct and you're wrong. The AP arrow is not changed until the throw-in is complete or A commits a violation. It does not change when the ball is administered to the thrower. If this occurs during an AP throw-in, the arrow does not change and the same team keeps the ball.

Agree with Tony. Rules reference is R6-3-4.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 03, 2003 03:04am

I agree with Tony and JR! I had to post this as it may be the first time ever.

ChuckElias Mon Nov 03, 2003 09:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Sorry for any <red>confustion</red> I caused. I think I'll go edit my first post. . .
As JAR pointed out, you might wanna edit this one too, Mr. Language Guy. :D

Nope, I like it too much as it is. JAR's reply is classic, so it stays the way it is. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1