The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Possession Arrow question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106518-possession-arrow-question.html)

Coach Bill Sat Dec 13, 2025 11:41pm

Possession Arrow question
 
With about 30 seconds left in the 1st quarter, during a scramble for the ball, I tried to call timeout, but the officials ruled held ball, and the possession went to my opponent. To start the 2nd quarter, my opponent was being given the ball. I said, hold on, remember that last tie up that went the other way, I tried to call timeout, etc....

The official didn't say whether I was right or wrong. He only said, "I have to go by what the table says".

Is that really true?

Raymond Sat Dec 13, 2025 11:48pm

If the crew has definite knowledge that the arrow is wrong, they can correct it.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Sun Dec 14, 2025 01:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 1054616)
With about 30 seconds left in the 1st quarter, during a scramble for the ball, I tried to call timeout, but the officials ruled held ball, and the possession went to my opponent. To start the 2nd quarter, my opponent was being given the ball. I said, hold on, remember that last tie up that went the other way, I tried to call timeout, etc....

The official didn't say whether I was right or wrong. He only said, "I have to go by what the table says".

Is that really true?

Officials may correct, fix, or prevent a few things during a game. A head coach may even request a time-out for these reasons. See NFHS rule 5-8-4.

BillyMac Sun Dec 14, 2025 10:47am

Alternating Possession Mistake ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1054618)
NFHS rule 5-8-4.

5-8-4: Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, must be stopped when an official:
Responds to the scorer’s signal to grant a coach’s request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official must be presented at the scorer’s table where a coach of each team may be present.

5-11-Exception: No time-out is charged:
b. If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1