The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Multiple players out of bounds - tell them? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106512-multiple-players-out-bounds-tell-them.html)

bucky Tue Dec 02, 2025 11:43pm

Multiple players out of bounds - tell them?
 
Team A scores a basket and Coach B calls a timeout. Out of the timeout, Team B has all 5 players out of bounds, which is legal, along the endline for the throw-in. Team B successfully completes the throw-in, moves up court, and scores. Team A inbounds the ball, moves up court, and commits a violation near the endline, awarding the ball to Team B for a designated spot throw-in. Coach B calls a timeout. Out of the timeout, Players B1-B5 come on the court and head towards the endline for the throw-in. B1, B2, and B3 go to spots out of bounds, which is illegal, along the endline.

How would you handle this? Would you begin telling the B players that this is not allowed? Would you put the ball at the disposal of B1 and then call an immediate Technical foul? Would you call some type of violation after giving the ball to B1 for the throw-in? Would you do nothing and allow the throw-in to continue? Other?

Nevadaref Wed Dec 03, 2025 05:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1054548)
Team A scores a basket and Coach B calls a timeout. Out of the timeout, Team B has all 5 players out of bounds, which is legal, along the endline for the throw-in. Team B successfully completes the throw-in, moves up court, and scores. Team A inbounds the ball, moves up court, and commits a violation near the endline, awarding the ball to Team B for a designated spot throw-in. Coach B calls a timeout. Out of the timeout, Players B1-B5 come on the court and head towards the endline for the throw-in. B1, B2, and B3 go to spots out of bounds, which is illegal, along the endline.

How would you handle this? Would you begin telling the B players that this is not allowed? Would you put the ball at the disposal of B1 and then call an immediate Technical foul? Would you call some type of violation after giving the ball to B1 for the throw-in? Would you do nothing and allow the throw-in to continue? Other?

I would administer the throw-in without instructing the team. Telling them that they need to be inbounds is coaching, not officiating. Once the ball becomes live, call the throw-in violation on Team B. That is the proper penalty.

Why would I not instruct the team? The coach knows enough to run this play following a made goal by the opposing team, so I have to believe that he should know that he cannot run it at other times.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 03, 2025 08:06am

It's somewhat level dependent, but I agree with Nevada. I would be sure to emphases it's a spot throw-in and maybe give B an extra second or two to recognize and correct the issue.

JRutledge Wed Dec 03, 2025 08:52am

I would not tell them anything. Not much to tell. Other than maybe do not reach across the line as I often do with the defender guarding the in-bound pass. Other than that, nothing to say. Make sure everyone is in a legal spot and hand the ball to the thrower.

Peace

BillyMac Wed Dec 03, 2025 09:40am

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1054553)
It's somewhat level dependent ... I would be sure to emphases it's a spot throw-in and maybe give B an extra second or two to recognize and correct the issue.

Agree.

BillyMac Wed Dec 03, 2025 11:02am

Gray Area ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 105455)
Telling them that they need to be inbounds is coaching, not officiating.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1054556)
... maybe do not reach across the line as I often do with the defender guarding the in-bound pass.

"Get out of the lane!"

Moving players from incorrect marked lane spaces to correct marked lane spaces before bouncing the ball to free thrower.

There is a gray area between coaching and preventive officiating.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...4cb52b69d2.jpg

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Dec 03, 2025 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1054560)
"Get out of the lane!"

Moving players from incorrect marked lane spaces to correct marked lane spaces before bouncing the ball to free thrower.

There is a gray area between coaching and preventive officiating.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...4cb52b69d2.jpg


🤣

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Wed Dec 03, 2025 04:14pm

Got'cha ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1054560)
There is a gray area between coaching and preventive officiating.[/IMG]

On one hand I don't want to run rules clinics during my games, but on the other hand I don't like playing "Got'cha" either.

Raymond Thu Dec 04, 2025 07:35am

I'm going to tell them once, "this is a designated spot throw-in, you can't be out of bounds".

The same as I would if I see six players on the court for one team or while administering a free throw I see somebody standing on a lane line or administering a free throw and I see a non-lane player is below the FTLE or inside the three-point arc.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 04, 2025 11:01am

The Devil’s Advocate
 
I am going to play the Devil’s Advocate.

Situation: The L is ready to administer the Ball to A1, the Free Thrower, and the L sees that, instead of B1 and B2 in the First Lane Spaces the L sees a) A2 and A3 in the First Lane Spaces or b) A2 is in one of the two First Lane Spaces. RULING: What say you?

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Thu Dec 04, 2025 12:55pm

Preventive Officiating ..
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1054564)
I'm going to tell them once, "this is a designated spot throw-in, you can't be out of bounds". The same as I would if I see six players on the court for one team or while administering a free throw I see somebody standing on a lane line or administering a free throw and I see a non-lane player is below the FTLE or inside the three-point arc.

Agree 100%.

BillyMac Thu Dec 04, 2025 12:56pm

If It's Broken, Fix It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1054567)
Situation: The L is ready to administer the Ball to A1, the Free Thrower, and the L sees that, instead of B1 and B2 in the First Lane Spaces the L sees a) A2 and A3 in the First Lane Spaces or b) A2 is in one of the two First Lane Spaces. RULING: What say you?

Fix it.

bucky Sat Dec 06, 2025 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1054553)
It's somewhat level dependent, but I agree with Nevada. I would be sure to emphases it's a spot throw-in and maybe give B an extra second or two to recognize and correct the issue.

This is what the official did.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1054564)
I'm going to tell them once, "this is a designated spot throw-in, you can't be out of bounds".

The same as I would if I see six players on the court for one team or while administering a free throw I see somebody standing on a lane line or administering a free throw and I see a non-lane player is below the FTLE or inside the three-point arc.

I share this opinion. I have another situation (illegal number) that could be added to this thread but I will make it a new one.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1