The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10 second count (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10649-10-second-count.html)

Ridgeben Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:39am

A1 has the ball in his backcourt and is 9 seconds into his 10 second count. He releases the ball and it is caught by A2 in the front court at 12 seconds. The rule (9.8) says a player/team shall not be in continious control of the ball in his backcourt. Can someone clarify continious control for me and give me the correct call.

Indy_Ref Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ridgeben
A1 has the ball in his backcourt and is 9 seconds into his 10 second count. He releases the ball and it is caught by A2 in the front court at 12 seconds. The rule (9.8) says a player/team shall not be in continious control of the ball in his backcourt. Can someone clarify continious control for me and give me the correct call.

Violation! The ball has not gained frontcourt status! Read case 9.8, sitch A.

mick Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ridgeben
A1 has the ball in his backcourt and is 9 seconds into his 10 second count. He releases the ball and it is caught by A2 in the front court at 12 seconds. The rule (9.8) says a player/team shall not be in continious control of the ball in his backcourt. Can someone clarify continious control for me and give me the correct call.

Ridgeben,
Continuous control means the other team has not controlled the ball.
The ball in the air at 10, 12 seconds still has not achieved frontcourt status, so by your rule noted, the ball still has backcourt location and the 10 second rule has been violated.
I passed on two of those calls last night.
mick

<HR>
How many other rules should we ignore?

Danvrapp Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:47am

This ball is still in the backcourt--even when it's in the air--until touched by a player in the front court. I suppose depending on the age level and/or situation (score?), you may be able or willing to pass on this 10 second call.

Dan_ref Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Ridgeben
A1 has the ball in his backcourt and is 9 seconds into his 10 second count. He releases the ball and it is caught by A2 in the front court at 12 seconds. The rule (9.8) says a player/team shall not be in continious control of the ball in his backcourt. Can someone clarify continious control for me and give me the correct call.

Ridgeben,
Continuous control means the other team has not controlled the ball.
The ball in the air at 10, 12 seconds still has not achieved frontcourt status, so by your rule noted, the ball still has backcourt location and the 10 second rule has been violated.
I passed on two of those calls last night.
mick

<HR>
How many other rules should we ignore?

My own list changes year to year but there are always some that stay on it ;)

BTW, this particular one's hard to ignore with a shot clock & a savvy coach.

mick Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Ridgeben
A1 has the ball in his backcourt and is 9 seconds into his 10 second count. He releases the ball and it is caught by A2 in the front court at 12 seconds. The rule (9.8) says a player/team shall not be in continious control of the ball in his backcourt. Can someone clarify continious control for me and give me the correct call.

Ridgeben,
Continuous control means the other team has not controlled the ball.
The ball in the air at 10, 12 seconds still has not achieved frontcourt status, so by your rule noted, the ball still has backcourt location and the 10 second rule has been violated.
I passed on two of those calls last night.
mick

<HR>
How many other rules should we ignore?

My own list changes year to year but there are always some that stay on it ;)

BTW, this particular one's hard to ignore with a shot clock & a savvy coach.

Dan,
When I think of making that call, My mind just tells me, "Yuck!"

In Ridgeben's original case, with the ball in the air for 3 seconds, (<I>What is that like 96' high?</I> :rolleyes: ), the call becomes easier.

mick

Ridgeben Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:13am

Yeah, I do realize that that was a long time for a pass. Just trying to make my point..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1