The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NFHS Rule Change Regarding Goaltending ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106444-nfhs-rule-change-regarding-goaltending.html)

JRutledge Mon Aug 04, 2025 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1053995)
If we're to say that any part of the ball is above the rim after the ball touches the backboard is off limits, it really should just be that any ball that touches the backboard with a chance to go is eligible for a GT violation. Just to make it simpler and we're not quibbling about if the ball was a quarter inch above or below when it was touched.

If they want it to be completely above the rim, let's just forget the rule exists.

To be fair, the rule for GT has two different parts. One is if the ball does not touch the backboard, and one is when it does. There is nothing in the current rule that they just posted that says anything about how much the ball is above the rim. It does not even say being above the rim is a requirement. It only states that if it touches the backboard and has a chance to go in, that is enough to be GT if touched by the opponent.

Peace

SNIPERBBB Mon Aug 04, 2025 10:09am

That's the way I read the rule.appears iaabo send to think NFHS doesn't mean it that way . We'll see if this interp comes out.

BillyMac Mon Aug 04, 2025 11:37am

Upcoming Interpretation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1054001)
There is nothing in the current rule that they just posted that says anything about how much the ball is above the rim. It does not even say being above the rim is a requirement.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053991)
Interpretation Note: While NFHS Rule 4-22-3 does not specify that the ball must be above the ring, IAABO has confirmed through discussions with NFHS that an upcoming interpretation will mirror the NCAA Men’s rule: If any part of the ball is above the ring level after backboard contact and is then touched by a defender, goaltending has occurred.

We'll have to await the upcoming NFHS interpretation.

https://tse3.mm.bing.net/th/id/OIP.v...=Api&P=0&h=180

SNIPERBBB Mon Aug 04, 2025 12:07pm

Alleged interp. NFHS still hasn't published the case book.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Aug 04, 2025 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1054001)
To be fair, the rule for GT has two different parts. One is if the ball does not touch the backboard, and one is when it does. There is nothing in the current rule that they just posted that says anything about how much the ball is above the rim. It does not even say being above the rim is a requirement. It only states that if it touches the backboard and has a chance to go in, that is enough to be GT if touched by the opponent.

Peace


👍

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Mon Aug 04, 2025 02:08pm

Pants On Fire ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1054004)
Alleged interp. NFHS still hasn't published the case book.

Do you not believe IAABO?

Or do you not believe the NFHS?

Or have they joined together in a conspiracy?

They tell us that they're going to release the Epstein client list, sorry, I mean the interpretation, that it's right on their desk, and then they don't follow through on their pledge to release it.

Liars. IAABO. NFHS. The whole bunch of 'em are all damn liars.

SNIPERBBB Mon Aug 04, 2025 07:13pm

I don't do projections. When the casebook or this hypothetical interp gets released, I'll go with it. Until then...https://media1.tenor.com/m/fyylSNGrZ...ll-waiting.gif


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1