![]() |
Two- or Three- Point FGA per NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's Rules.
The following play is from the Facebook group: NFHS – Basketball Officials. It was a video which cannot post here so I will describe the play for everyone.
Let me further state that the Play did not occur during a game but was a staged SITUATION and was posted for educational purposes. 1: A1 and A2 are both Standing in Team A’s Front Court. 2a: A1 is Standing in the Free Throw Semi-Circle (i.e. inside the Three-Point Arc) facing Team A’s Basket. 2b: A1 is Holding the Ball. 3: A2 is Standing outside of the Three-Point Arc. 4: A1 jumps as if to Attempt a 2-Pt. FGA. 5: A2 runs toward A1 and jumps toward A1 from outside the Three-Point Arc. 6a: While A1 is Airborne and before A1 can release the Ball for a 2-Pt. FGA, A2 while still Airborne takes the Ball from A1’s hands and releases the Ball toward Team A’s Basket. 6b: The Ball goes through the Basket. Is A2’s FGA a: i) successful 2-Pt. FGA or ii) successful 3-Pt. FGA? I know that the probability of this Play ever happening is barely above zero, but I believe that is a great example of the need to know the most important Rule in the Rules Book: Rule Four, Definitions. I have asked for a RULING per NFHS and NCAA Men’s/Women’s Rules and I already know my RULING and I also know how I would Rule per FIBA and NBA/WNBA Rules. So let’s have some off-season fun. MTD, Sr. |
I'd go off-rulebook and award 100 points plus anyone in the gym to take home as a one-off sex partner, willing or unwilling.
|
The Devil Is In The Details ...
Quote:
Extreme situations will always test one's knowledge of rule definitions. NFHS 4-4-3: A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court. NFHS 5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team’s own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. NFHS 4-35-1: The location of a player or non-player is determined by where the person is touching the floor as far as being: c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line. NFHS 4-35-3: The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher. Treat it as a pass, a hand off pass, and count it as three points. |
Quote:
Billy: I thought this SITUATION would generate some discussion. You would have been surprised at the number of people that insisted that this was a 2-Pt. FGA! MTD, Sr. |
I saw the play on Facebook. I'd say it's a 3-point try. The player that released the ball for the Try originated from behind the 3 point line.
|
Connecticut, "Land Of Steady Habits" ...
Quote:
He's from Missouri, the "Show Me State". |
Quote:
Either that or they interpret the second player as having been supported off the floor by the first. the ball being part of the "pyramid". |
Quote:
|
Climbing Or Lifting ...
Quote:
If two players (climber and climbee) both actively participate in such, who gets the technical foul, or technical fouls? |
Quote:
Quote:
Robert: Please see my Item 6a in my original comment. A1 was Airborne not Standing when A2 took the Ball from his hands. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16pm. |