The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Men's Tournament Discussion (2025) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106381-ncaa-mens-tournament-discussion-2025-a.html)

Rich Tue Mar 18, 2025 04:49pm

NCAA Men's Tournament Discussion (2025)
 
Let's use this thread to discuss the tournament, ask for videos, etc. Thanks.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 20, 2025 12:52pm

Creighton-Louisville Game.
 
We need the video of the Block/Charge call at 10:15 of the 2nd Half.

MTD, Sr.

Indianaref Thu Mar 20, 2025 02:05pm

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/UjR_UkcGq1U?si=vuooCZPEXP91V7Gs" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" referrerpolicy="strict-origin-when-cross-origin" allowfullscreen></iframe>

bob jenkins Thu Mar 20, 2025 02:16pm

Ih NS and NCAAW, it's a charge. Don't know what the NCAAM rule is.

bradriney Thu Mar 20, 2025 04:08pm

Georgia v Gonzaga
 
I’m not sure Larry Scirotto is an official in that game. I think it’s Lucas Santos

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Mar 20, 2025 04:45pm

I have no idea what the L was seeing but there was a big Blue Player standing between him and the Play not to mention this was in the T's PCA. Not to mention that the T had a very good look at this Play and did nothing.

MTD, Sr.

Indianaref Thu Mar 20, 2025 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1053631)
I have no idea what the L was seeing but there was a big Blue Player standing between him and the Play not to mention this was in the T's PCA. Not to mention that the T had a very good look at this Play and did nothing.

MTD, Sr.

The T started to signal block

Raymond Fri Mar 21, 2025 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1053631)
I have no idea what the L was seeing but there was a big Blue Player standing between him and the Play not to mention this was in the T's PCA. Not to mention that the T had a very good look at this Play and did nothing.



MTD, Sr.

The Lead should have been the last person putting a whistle on this play. And since the Trail had a whistle, the Lead should have given the play up to him.

The Lead immediately went to his over-the-head block signal without even giving thought to somebody else having a whistle on the play. (Officials who use the over-the-head block signal usually don't pause to see if there's another whistle).

And you are correct about him having a player directly in front of him when the foul occurred.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Fri Mar 21, 2025 11:51am

Yahoo Sports
March Madness 2025: Louisville fan removed from arena after throwing water bottle onto court during loss to Creighton

https://sports.yahoo.com/college-bas...202823492.html

jmwking Fri Mar 28, 2025 10:37am

Was last night's the first blarge of the tourney, Az v Duke, at about 9:00 in first half?

Blindolbat Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmwking (Post 1053658)
Was last night's the first blarge of the tourney, Az v Duke, at about 9:00 in first half?

9:05 to be exact if someone's trying to find the clip. It's very similar play to what's posted above in this thread. C's play to have all the way in my opinion.

Interesting to watch that both the C and L get their fist up for a foul call with a good delay, not an immediate signal by either, and then both give opposite signals at the exact same time.

Raymond Sat Mar 29, 2025 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blindolbat (Post 1053659)
9:05 to be exact if someone's trying to find the clip. It's very similar play to what's posted above in this thread. C's play to have all the way in my opinion.



Interesting to watch that both the C and L get their fist up for a foul call with a good delay, not an immediate signal by either, and then both give opposite signals at the exact same time.

Once the Lead sees the Center posted, he should have dropped. Absolutely no reason for him to take that play.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Raymond Sat Apr 05, 2025 10:16pm

Florida-Auburn game, way too many whistles by the Lead on above the rim plays.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Raymond Mon Apr 07, 2025 10:12pm

So they don't call the immediate travel.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

The_Rookie Mon Apr 07, 2025 10:19pm

Last play of game
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1053676)
So they don't call the immediate travel.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

What was #21 on Houston allowed to do after losing control of his dribble?

Raymond Tue Apr 08, 2025 05:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 1053677)
What was #21 on Houston allowed to do after losing control of his dribble?

He didn't lose control of his dribble. He jumped and then dropped the ball when a defender closed out.

There was a play earlier in the game when the player jumped and fumbled the ball and he retrieved it.

So saying he lost control on that last play is inaccurate and is relevant to how the play is adjudicated.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Valley Man Tue Apr 08, 2025 07:19am

Raymond .. should have been a whistled for illegal dribble immediately correct?

Starting a dribble without a pivot foot to be exact

Doesnt matter if he touches it as the announcers say

Raymond Tue Apr 08, 2025 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053679)
Raymond .. should have been a whistled for illegal dribble immediately correct?



Starting a dribble without a pivot foot to be exact



Doesnt matter if he touches it as the announcers say

That's a judgment call. For me, it would be whether or not there were any teammates close enough to turn it into a pass. Considering the situation last night, I feel they did the right thing by letting it play out. Though, it probably would have been better for Houston if they had been called for a violation so they could get another chance to foul Florida.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Valley Man Tue Apr 08, 2025 10:25am

I thought that looks like the exact same play from the National Semi .. he started a dribble.

I can see selling it as a pass, but man that is tough.

BillyMac Tue Apr 08, 2025 10:33am

Airborne Player ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1053678)
He didn't lose control of his dribble. He jumped and then dropped the ball when a defender closed out ... saying he lost control on that last play is inaccurate and is relevant to how the play is adjudicated.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053679)
... should have been a whistled for illegal dribble immediately ... Starting a dribble without a pivot foot to be exact. Doesn't matter if he touches it as the announcers say.

We've been having this debate (usually in regard to NFHS not NCAA rules) here on the Forum for as long as I've been a Forum member (2005).

Lots of odd things can happen once a player in control of the ball decides to become airborne.

Many of these situations are listed in my annual most misunderstood basketball rules list (a list that is not "certified" in any way by the NFHS, but it has been cross referenced with NFHS rules, NFHS casebook plays, and NFHS annual interpretations by me, and many other Forum members, many, many times for NFHS "accuracy" over the past twenty years).

If a defender puts a hand(s) on a ball controlled by a shooter (or passer) who is airborne, such that the airborne player is unable to release the ball, it is a held ball. If, in another similar situation, the airborne player loses control of the ball because of the touch, then this is simply a blocked shot. It is not a violation for that player to start a dribble at that point. If, in a similar situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne player chooses not to release the ball, and returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation.

When an airborne player tries for goal (or pass), sees that the try (or pass) will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and touches the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. If an airborne player is preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt (or pass), and instead of releasing the ball, fumbles the ball (while still in the air), drops the ball, and then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball, it’s a traveling violation.


In the situation last night, one (though not all) can interpret this as a very legal but very ugly start of a very bad bounce pass.

JRutledge Tue Apr 08, 2025 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053679)
Raymond .. should have been a whistled for illegal dribble immediately correct?

Starting a dribble without a pivot foot to be exact

Doesnt matter if he touches it as the announcers say

How do you know it is a dribble until he clearly touches the ball again? It is a bad play, but also not a black and white situation IMO.

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 08, 2025 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053681)
I thought that looks like the exact same play from the National Semi .. he started a dribble.



I can see selling it as a pass, but man that is tough.

If I'm remembering the play correctly from the semifinal, player dropped then retrieved the ball after it bounced.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

Valley Man Tue Apr 08, 2025 11:25am

Excellent point!

Nevadaref Tue Apr 08, 2025 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1053676)
So they don't call the immediate travel.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk

I wouldn’t be surprised if we now get clarification on this from both the NCAA and NFHS.

In my opinion, there wasn’t a teammate nearby and that was clearly the start of a dribble necessitating an immediate whistle.

BillyMac Tue Apr 08, 2025 04:20pm

Immediate Whistle ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1053686)
In my opinion, there wasn’t a teammate nearby and that was clearly the start of a dribble necessitating an immediate whistle.

While I respectfully and politely disagree with Nevadaref (I would call it the start of a very legal but very ugly, very bad bounce pass), his post does bring up a question in my mind.

If one believes that this is illegal because it's the start of a dribble, does one sound the whistle as soon as the ball is released, or wait until the ball hits the floor?

BillyMac Wed Apr 09, 2025 09:53am

What's It Gonna Be Boy (Meatloaf, Dashboard Light, 1977) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1053686)
In my opinion, there wasn’t a teammate nearby and that was clearly the start of a dribble necessitating an immediate whistle.

While I respectfully and politely disagree with Nevadaref (I would call it the start of a very legal but very ugly, very bad bounce pass), his post does bring up another question in my mind.

Travel or illegal dribble?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1