The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal Dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106371-illegal-dribble.html)

Valley Man Mon Feb 17, 2025 06:10pm

Illegal Dribble
 
A1 has ended dribble with both feet on the floor. A2 makes a cut and then goes backdoor. A1 has released the intended pass for A2.

A1 retrieves the ball.

I know this one is out there right now.

SNIPERBBB Mon Feb 17, 2025 08:05pm

Violation when A1 retrieves the ball as an illegal dribble. Needs to be touched first by another player for A1 to touch the ball again.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 17, 2025 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1053560)
Violation when A1 retrieves the ball as an illegal dribble. Needs to be touched first by another player for A1 to touch the ball again.



👍

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 18, 2025 08:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053557)

I know this one is out there right now.

Out.... where?

Valley Man Tue Feb 18, 2025 09:07am

Saw it on NFHS site as well as 5 Play FRI I think

I understand illegal, but thought it may fall under "intent of player" like shooing and catching your own airball. Or potentially a fumble.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 18, 2025 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053565)
Saw it on NFHS site as well as 5 Play FRI I think

I understand illegal, but thought it may fall under "intent of player" like shooing and catching your own airball. Or potentially a fumble.

"Shooting the ball" ends team control. Throwing a pass does not. Pretty sure there's a specific case play akin to the OP, and it's illegal.

Valley Man Tue Feb 18, 2025 09:52am

I remember an old case play as well. Something like A5 gathers a rebound and makes an outlet pass, but A1 has already turned gone up the floor. A5 can recover because they have not dribbled.

BillyMac Tue Feb 18, 2025 01:01pm

Fumble ...
 
If he tried to stop the pass at the last second and fumbled the ball away, he could legally pick up the ball, but not start another dribble.

BillyMac Sat Feb 22, 2025 11:57am

Outlet Pass Interpretation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 1053567)
I remember an old case play as well. Something like A5 gathers a rebound and makes an outlet pass, but A1 has already turned gone up the floor. A5 can recover because they have not dribbled.

2003-04 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
Situation 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1