![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Ball is Wedged Between the Basket and the Backboard or Comes to Rest on the Flange
This past week a Situation was discussed on a Facebook group for basketball fanboys. I was surprised at the number of people that thought the Situation being discussed was a rare occurrence but I was not surprised at the lack of Rules knowledge regarding the Situation.
And since Tournament Time is just around the corner many of you I decided to create a number of Situations for everyone's review (and viewing pleasure, ![]() The Situations are: I) the Ball becoming lodged between the Basket and the Backboard or II) it comes to rest on the Flange. Whether it is (I) or (II) the Ruling may not always be the same. In all Situations, Team A has the AP Arrow. Situations (I): Situation 1a: Team A has a Sideline Throw-in in its Frontcourt. Thrower A1 releases the Ball. The Ball crosses the Sideline. The Ball neither touches another Player nor is it touched by another Player before it becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situation 1b: Team A has a Sideline Throw-in in its Frontcourt. Thrower A1 releases the Ball. The Ball crosses the Sideline. The Ball then touches another Player or it is touched by another Player before it becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situation 2a: A1 has Control of the Ball in Team A’s Frontcourt. A1 releases the Ball on a Pass to A2. The Ball neither touches another Player nor is it touched by another Player before it becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situation 2b: A1 has Control of the Ball in Team A’s Frontcourt. A1 releases the Ball on a Pass to A2. The Ball touches another Player or is it touched by another Player before it becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situation 3a: A1 releases the Ball for a FGA. The Ball neither touches another Player nor is it touched by another Player before it becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situation 3b: A1 releases the Ball for FGA. The Ball touches or is touched by another Player before becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situation 4a: A1 releases the Ball for the: i) first FTA of two FTAs or ii) first or second FTA of three FTAs. The Ball then becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? For Situation 4b, the Ball is to remain in Play whether or not the FTA is successful. Situation 4b: A1 releases the Ball for the last FTA of: i) one FTA, ii) two FTAs, or iii) three FTAs. The Ball becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? For Situation 5, the last FTA is the last Attempt in a Series of FTAs after which the Ball will be put into Play by a Throw-in. Situation 5: A1 releases the Ball for the last FTA of: i) one FTA, ii) two FTAs, or iii) three FTAs. The Ball becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Situations (II): Situation 1a: Team A has a Sideline Throw-in in its Frontcourt. Thrower A1 releases the Ball. The Ball crosses the Sideline. The Ball neither touches another Player nor is it touched by another Player before it comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? Situation 1b: Team A has a Sideline Throw-in in its Frontcourt. Thrower A1 releases the Ball. The Ball crosses the Sideline. The Ball then touches another Player or it is touched by another Player before it comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? Situation 2a: A1 has Control of the Ball in Team A’s Frontcourt. A1 releases the Ball on a Pass to A2. The Ball neither touches another Player nor is it touched by another Player before it comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? Situation 2b: A1 has Control of the Ball in Team A’s Frontcourt. A1 releases the Ball on a Pass to A2. The Ball touches another Player or is it touched by another Player before it comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? Situation 3a: A1 releases the Ball for a FGA. The Ball neither touches another Player nor is it touched by another Player before it comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? Situation 3b: A1 releases the Ball for FGA. The Ball touches or is touched by another Player before it comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? Situation 4a: A1 releases the Ball for the: i) first FTA of two FTAs or ii) first or second FTA three FTAs. The Ball then comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? For Situation 4b, the Ball is to remain in Play whether or not the FTA is successful. Situation 4b: A1 releases the Ball for the last FTA of: i) one FTA, ii) two FTAs, or iii) three FTAs. The Ball then comes to rest on the Flange. RULING: ??? For Situation 5, the last FTA is the last Attempt in a Series of FTAs after which the Ball will be put into Play by a Throw-in. Situation 5: A1 releases the Ball for the last FTA of: i) one FTA, ii) two FTAs, or iii) three FTAs. The Ball becomes wedged between the Basket and the Backboard. RULING: ??? Billy: I intend to rejoin the IAABO Rules Examination Committee so feel free to forward these on to Charlene, ![]() MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Basket Or Backboard ??? | BillyMac | Basketball | 2 | Thu Nov 03, 2022 11:04am |
Ball wedged between rim and backboard | Coach Lou | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 25, 2013 05:38pm |
Grasping backboard or basket and playing the ball | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 28, 2013 05:51pm |
Ball on Flange on FT | jhc2010 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:23am |
Ball comes to rest on the flange. | JeffTheRef | Basketball | 21 | Wed Apr 07, 2004 10:16am |