The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   “Saving” the ball from going out of bounds is the start of a dribble…? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106324-saving-ball-going-out-bounds-start-dribble.html)

Mike.Connors Wed Nov 13, 2024 12:11am

“Saving” the ball from going out of bounds is the start of a dribble…?
 
Looking for an old NFHS case play. The following description is not verbatim. A2 in the backcourt makes an errant pass toward A1 that is out of A1’s reach. A1 chases after the ball and just before it goes out of bounds A1 “saves” the ball by reaching out and “tossing” the ball back onto the playing court with one hand. A1’s momentum then takes him out of bounds. A1 recovers and returns inbounds and immediately bats the bouncing ball to the floor with the hand and continues dribbling.

The case play I am looking for ruled this play legal saying that the toss of the ball back onto the playing court by A1 legally constituted the start of a dribble, which A1 then continued after returning inbounds by batting the ball to the floor instead of grabbing it by both hands.

Does anyone remember this case and can you provide the citation and which case book(s) it appears in? I am more interested in finding the original text of the case confirming this is the start of a dribble than debating whether the action is legal or not.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Wed Nov 13, 2024 09:06am

7.1.1d

BillyMac Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:04am

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1053157)
7.1.1d

7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)

Mike.Connors Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:47pm

“Saving” the ball from going out of bounds is the start of a dribble…?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1053158)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)


Thank you, @BillyMac! [emoji1374]
I’m more than a bit embarrassed that the case is still in the case book and thus right under my nose. [emoji849]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike.Connors Wed Nov 13, 2024 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike.Connors (Post 1053173)
Thank you, @BillyMac! [emoji1374]
I’m more than a bit embarrassed this case is still in the case book and thus right under my nose. [emoji849]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Nov 14, 2024 08:51am

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike.Connors (Post 1053173)
Thank you, @BillyMac!

Thank bob jenkins.

He found it, I just posted it.

I love copy and paste, the keyboard is not my friend.

An internet friend that Mannix and I both know just sent me a PDF searchable and copy and paste-able 2024-25 NXXS Casebook.

https://www.soundtrack.net/img/movie/16479.jpg

Mike.Connors Thu Nov 14, 2024 10:29am

Follow up question.

The case describes A1 "catching" the ball (with two hands?) before tossing it back onto the playing court. If A1, instead, just tapped or directed the ball back onto the court with one hand, would this also be considered the start of a dribble?

Mike.Connors Thu Nov 14, 2024 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1053157)
7.1.1d

Thank you!

bob jenkins Thu Nov 14, 2024 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike.Connors (Post 1053180)
Follow up question.

The case describes A1 "catching" the ball (with two hands?) before tossing it back onto the playing court. If A1, instead, just tapped or directed the ball back onto the court with one hand, would this also be considered the start of a dribble?

There’s a difference between a “catch and throw” and a “bat”. Either can be with one or two hands.

One is player control; the other is not. Deciding which it is is why we get the big bucks.

One way some find helpful is to ask yourself whether you would grant a TO during the short interval the player is contacting the ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1