![]() |
NFHS: Travel or not?
https://www.facebook.com/share/r/qoCTx6nskMDPvv2u/
I'm FIBA certified and having a discussion with an NFHS referee. I'm pretty sure our rules regarding hopping on the same foot is aligned. But he claims because the player gather the ball with both feet on the ground and is progressing, he still has two steps after. Pretty sure there is no gather step in NFHS. So if this official deems the ball was gathered with both hands, when he lifted his left foot, doesn't that make his right foot the pivot? And then he lifted and landed on pivot. Isn't that an obvious travel? |
Pack A Bag, Take A Train ...
Quote:
On a pass, or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. |
This a judgment call. Do you think the ball was "gathered" or controlled after the dribble before the little hop? If so, then that is a travel. If you deem the ball was "gathered" in the air or after the dribbler jumped, then this is a legal move.
I think this is technically a travel that is not likely to be called much of the time. Peace |
The ball was actually already gathered on the left foot. Then he took a step with his right foot and hopped off. I can understand if my partner not seeing his other hand touching the ball for a step. But two steps with two hands on the ball and still calling the gather in mid air is hard to be excused IMO.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm. |