![]() |
NCAA M/W Travel?
Player A1 gains control while in the prone position. A1 rolls to their Right side. Then A1 rolls back to the Prone position and continues to their Left side. Now A1 rolls to the supine position on their back.
Anytime in this process, has A1 committed a violation per NCAA-M or NCAA-W rules? |
Kinda depends on the officials definition/interpretation of the word "roll" doesn't it? Is a "roll" the same as a "turn"? Is a roll a 45 degree movement? Ninety degrees? Could even you have meant something different when you typed "roll"?
I would think, generally speaking, "rolling" with the ball on the floor would constitute traveling in most eyes. |
NCAW: (emphasis added)
A.R. 264. Is it traveling when a player: (1) Falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or (2) Falls to the playing court on both knees while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot; or (3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to their feet? RULING: (1) and (2) Yes, when the pivot foot is not maintained because it is virtually impossible not to move the pivot foot when falling to the playing floor. (3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble, or request a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, they may not roll over. When flat on their back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to their feet while holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves. |
Soooo...what do they mean by "roll over"? Looks to be subjective to official's opinion.
|
Quote:
Unless we give each official a protractor, I don't think we're going to get a better definition. In practice, it works. It's kind of like a "carry" during a dribble -- not called until the palm faces more toward the ceiling. |
Seems realistic. Would you agree that about 180 degrees constitutes, for practical purposes, a "roll"?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm. |