![]() |
Ball status and the Referee
Official has a heel on the division line and the other foot 2-3 feet inside the front court. Ball hits the official's front foot. Does that give the ball backcourt status, and it's thus a backcourt violation when Team A then touches the ball in the front court?
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
In a similar situation where the official had once foot OOB, it would be a violation. |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
4-4-4: A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual’s location.
|
Quote:
Do the rules makers really intend for us to call it out of bounds if the ball hits two feet inside the court just because part of the official is touching the sideline? I'm talking about real world application. So I am asking for you to tell me if you would call (or have called) a BC violation in the OP. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
Is that how it should be? Maybe not. But I think that is consistent with how we apply the rules in other areas and unless there is something specific to say otherwise, that is how I have always applied this. This happens mostly 1 or 2 times every couple of seasons. So it does not come up very often to where it even matters. Peace |
Boundaries Are Boundaries ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
To your OP -- if I knew I was OOB / on the division line, I would call it. I've only been hit once where it was close and I looked down and decided I was NOT oob and let play continue. |
Knowledge ...
Quote:
Quote:
If I knew I was standing on a "boundary" line before, or if I knew immediately after without moving, I would call it. If I didn't know, of course, I couldn't and wouldn't call it. And if I knew that I wasn't on a "boundary" line (during or immediately after without moving after), of course, I shouldn't and wouldn't call it. |
Tripping ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53pm. |