![]() |
Annoucning the wrong number of Free Throws
Fast break lead calls a foul and girl scores the basket. We are shooting an and 1. New administrator misses its 1 shot not 2. FT team knows its 1 ignores his announcement of 2. They rebound while the defensive team stands stills and scores.
Is this a correctable error? I seem to remember a case book play on this. Do you just wipe off the basket and go AP? Thanks in advance, |
Erroneously Informs Players ...
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two free throws will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free throw is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be ruled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3; 2-10)
|
Correctable Error ...
Quote:
There are errors and mistakes that can (while some can't) be somehow corrected, but there are only a limited few "correctable errors" (by definition). |
Answer ...
Quote:
|
Thank you all.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm. |