The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   New Rule 7-6-6 Throw-in Administration (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106072-new-rule-7-6-6-throw-administration.html)

BillyMac Tue Nov 14, 2023 12:16pm

Active ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1051540)
Let them speak for themselves.

...

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051527)
... possibly some who may no longer be active Forum members.


BillyMac Tue Nov 14, 2023 12:25pm

Eleven Years ???
 
Seems like only yesterday.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1051538)
I'm still hoping they actually codify the neck/head contact with a swinging elbow one of these decades.

I think that the NFHS considers it codified with the three relevant caseplays.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1051539)
I think they did that already.

Agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1051539)
Case book 9.13.1 and 9.13.2 covers this to some extent.

Contact Above Shoulders

4.19.3 SITUATION F: After a rebound, A1, while holding the ball, pivots and A1’s elbow contacts B1 above the shoulders. A1's elbow is violently and excessively swung at a speed in excess of the player’s torso. RULING: If the contact is violent or excessive, a flagrant foul shall be called. (4-27, 4-19-2, 4-19-3, 4-19-4)

9.13.1 SITUATION B: A1 is trapped in the corner by B1 and B2, who are in legal guarding position. In an attempt to create space, A1 rapidly swings arms/elbows while using the shoulders as pivots (a) without making contact; (b) making contact with an opponent above the shoulders and elbows are moving faster than the body. RULING: In (a), A1 excessively swinging arms/elbows without contacting the opponent is a violation. Team B is awarded a designated spot throw-in nearest the violation. In (b), this is considered an intentional foul. (9-13-1)

9.13.2 SITUATION: A5 catches the ball on a rebound, “chins” the ball and then turns (with the elbow at the same speed as the body) to make an outlet pass with the elbow leading the way. Prior to releasing the ball, A1’s elbow contacts B5 above the shoulders. RULING: This may be ruled incidental contact or a player control foul.

2012-13 Points Of Emphasis
Contact above the shoulders. With a continued emphasis on reducing concussions and decreasing excessive contact situations the committee determined that more guidance is needed for penalizing contact above the shoulders.
a. A player shall not swing his/her arm(s) or elbow(s) even without contacting an opponent. Excessive swinging of the elbows occurs when arms and elbows are swung about while using the shoulders as pivots, and the speed of the extended arms and elbows is in excess of the rest of the body as it rotates on the hips or on the pivot foot. Currently it is a violation in Rule 9 Section 13 Article.
b. Examples of illegal contact above the shoulders and resulting penalties.
1. Contact with a stationary elbow may be incidental or a common foul.
2. An elbow in movement but not excessive should be an intentional foul.
3. A moving elbow that is excessive can be either an intentional foul or flagrant personal foul.

BillyMac Tue Nov 14, 2023 12:28pm

Clear, Precise, Accurate, Complete ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 1051538)
I wouldnt worry about this until next year...

I would love to see this in the body of the casebook next year:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051482)
2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)


BillyMac Tue Nov 14, 2023 05:03pm

Paraphrasing The Rationale Of Others ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051537)
You're the one who said that new officials wouldn't be able to figure out how to rule such a play.

Never said it myself, just paraphrasing the rationale of others who had chosen to ignore the interpretation of the caseplay (and ruling differently) after its one and done appearance in the casebook despite no relevant rule changes or interpretation changes after the citation vanished.

Raymond Tue Nov 14, 2023 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051544)
Never said it myself, just paraphrasing the rationale of others who had chosen to ignore the interpretation of the caseplay (and ruling differently) after its one and done appearance in the casebook despite no relevant rule changes or interpretation changes after the citation vanished.

You said the rules as written wouldn't allow new officials to interpret the "body on the floor" play. You didn't quote somebody else. Why do you keep on bringing up this case play that disappeared? We have rules that cover the play. Why can't people properly interpret that play based on the rules written? Why do you constantly and incessantly bring up this case play that disappeared and ignore the three rules that are in the rule book?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Tue Nov 14, 2023 05:35pm

Rationale To Ignore ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051545)
You said the rules as written wouldn't allow no officials to interpret the "body on the floor" play.

Never said that, or believed that, myself, just paraphrasing (mimicking, sometimes sarcastically, or as a parody) past Forum members who had chosen to ignore the interpretation of the caseplay (and ruling differently in games) after its one and done appearance (using the "done" part as a rationale for their warped interpretation) in the casebook despite no relevant rule changes or interpretation changes after the citation vanished.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051492)
The only way that young'uns can learn this specific “being tripped is not the same as tripping” interpretation is through the tradition of old, grizzled officials sitting around a blazing campfire with young'uns and telling oral stories.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051494)
"How can an almost twenty year old case play that only appeared for a single year in the casebook and is no longer in the casebook be relevant to officials who have been officiating less than twenty years?".

"How many interpreters/trainers bring up this casebook play as a part of rookie instruction?".

"How can such an official explain this situation to a coach without the benefit of pointing it out in a casebook?".

"Sorry coach, I can't show you the play in the casebook but just go on the internet to the Official Basketball Forum and search for 2004-05 NFHS Casebook: 10.6.1 Situation E".

"Well, some anonymous official ... who goes by the username BillyMac, from a little corner of Connecticut ..., in an internet chat room says ..."

Over the years, my response to all of the posted opinions to ignore the casebook interpretation has always been consistently the same:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051492)
While the caseplay may have vanished, the rules behind it are still in the rule book and there have been no relevant rule changes, or interpretation changes, to invalidate it.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1