The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 01, 2022, 10:05am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Error Discovered During A Timeout ...

Another problem question from the 2022-23 IAABO Refresher Exam:

10) Team A is erroneously awarded the ball for an alternating possession throw-in. After the ball is at the disposal of Team A for the throw-in, Team A is granted a time-out. During the time-out it is determined that the ball should have been awarded to Team B. The officials cancel the time-out. Is this correct?

5-8-4: Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, must be stopped when an official: Responds to the scorer’s signal to grant a coach’s request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official must be presented at the scorer’s table where a coach of each team may be present.

5-11-EXCEPTION B: No time-out is charged: If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.

5.8.4 SITUATION A: The appeal of the coach of Team A to an official, made while the ball is dead and the clock is stopped, is made when it is too late for correction of an error. RULING: Following the conference, the 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A and they are given the privilege of utilizing whatever time remains. The official will terminate the discussion with the coach immediately upon making a decision. If the discussion takes more than one minute, only one 60-second time-out is charged. (2-10-2; 5-11-4)

5.8.4 SITUATION B: The head coach from Team A requests a 60-second time-out to rectify a timing error. The referee grants the time-out to investigate the matter, but determines that no correction can be made. The scorer then informs the referee that Team A cannot be charged a 60-second time-out as they only have one 30-second time-out remaining. RULING: Since they have no 60-second time-outs remaining and there was no timing correction made, Team A will be charged their remaining 30-second time-out regardless of the amount of time consumed. (5-11-4)


Team A probably didn't request the timeout to have an alternating possession error rectified. Does this impact the timeout not being charged?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 01, 2022 at 10:14am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Administrative T discovered during 1 and 1 akmay20 Basketball 18 Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:10pm
Illegal Ball Discovered jdmara Baseball 5 Thu May 29, 2014 04:37pm
Discovered Blood during a TO Scooby Basketball 90 Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:26am
Post game scorebook error discovered HoopsRefJunior Basketball 10 Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1